Weather Forecast


Students taking part in clinic

The music of renowned composer Michael Schelle of Indianapolis will be featured at the Northern State University Band Clinic with the Northern State University Symphonic Band at Aberdeen, S.D.

The concert begins at 3 p.m. today at the NSU Johnson Fine Arts. The concert is free.

The band clinic is the longest-running band clinic in the state of South Dakota. It includes more than 320 high school students and more than 30 directors from schools across South Dakota and North Dakota. The day also includes workshops for directors and students and a question/answer session with guest artist Deanna Swoboda. Area personnel in the event include:

Personnel, 2013-2014, NSU Symphonic Band

Ellendale: McKenzie Betting, music education, clarinet.

Kulm: Wyatt Nelson, trombone.

Jamestown: Alec Nelson, trumpet, and Jaime Kessler, horn, both music education.

NSU Band Clinic Gold Band

Ellendale School District: Taylor Olson, flute; Kyra Winter, clarinet; Amanda Green, Michelle Langley, Gabriel Petersen and Bryce Wadholm, trumpet; Remington Thurber, trombone; Kellemon Hinton, percussion.

Kulm High School: Kara Berntson, flute; Tiegan Irion, trumpet; Gracelynn Erickson, percussion.

Wishek High School: Leanna Friese, clarinet; Julianna Wolff, bass clarinet; Grace Schuler, alto saxophone; Abigail Crouch and Hunter Pinke, trumpet.

Zeeland High School: Hope Ebel, percussion;

NSU Band Clinic Maroon Band

Ellendale School District: Elizabeth Labuhn, flute; Chloe Thurber, Ellendale School District, flute; Bryce Fischer, alto saxophone; Eva Byerley, tenor saxophone; Jacob Hauck and Kelsey Peterson, trumpet; Brendon Flaherty, trombone; Kendal Betting, percussion.

Kulm High School: Tabitha Kinzler, trumpet; April Berntson, French horn; Cole Berntson, trombone; Jared DeLaurier, string bass; Tory Anderson, Lucas Bjur, Tristan Dallman and Layne Johnson, percussion.

Wishek High School: Emily Baugh, flute; Leanna Friese, Wishek High School, clarinet; Benjamin Schuler, tenor saxophone; Sean Loken, Tyler Toepke-Floyd and Rebekka Wanner, trumpet; Elisabeth Dalke, trombone.

Zeeland High School: Marissa Meidinger, Zeeland High School, flute; Olivia Voller, Zeeland High School, flute; Hannah Meier, Zeeland High School, clarinet; Casondra Rutschke, Zeeland High School, alto saxophone; Natalie Schumacher, trumpet; Jessica Aberle, baritone.

Participating directors

Trudy Fraase, Zeeland High School

Marvel Lindgren, Kulm High School

Colin Neuharth, Ashley High School

Barbara Wilson-DeLange, Ellendale School District

Janet Wolff, Wishek High School