Weather Forecast


PEO chapters hold convention here

The 100th annual convention of the North Dakota chapters of PEO was held May 29-31 at the Reiland Auditorium on the campus of the University of James- town in Jamestown.

There were 104 delegates representing 52 PEO chapters in North Dakota at the convention. Also attending were state officers, standing committee chairs for various committees and guests from chapters across the state.

The final order of business for the convention was to elect new state officers. They are: President Germaine Ueckert from Chapter C in Beach, Vice President Marianna Malm from Chapter V in Fargo, Organizer Marcia Foss from Chapter Z in Valley City, Treasurer Susan Johnson from Chapter Y in Fargo and Secretary Cindy Schuetzler from Chapter AQ in Dickinson.

The guest speakers at the Friends and Family Banquet on Friday evening were Mattie Richardson, a Cottey College alumna from North Dakota, and Joan Beckman, formerly of Jamestown.

Beckman is the recipient of the Scholar Award, which is the highest scholastic honor awarded by PEO, for her work in hematology oncology. She has completed a residency program through the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. She is a member of Chapter K in Jamestown.

Hostess chapters for the event were Chapters AB and K from James-town, Chapter O from Oakes and Chapter AA from Bismarck.