Zion United Methodist Church in Kulm closesSilently a bell hangs in the former Evangelical/Methodist church tower in Kulm, N.D. The building stands as a reminder of the faithful believers who gathered together since 1889.
By: By Ann Knecht, Special to the Sun, The Jamestown Sun
Silently a bell hangs in the former Evangelical/Methodist church tower in Kulm, N.D.
The building stands as a reminder of the faithful believers who gathered together since 1889.
The Kulm Mission associated with the Ashley Mission became a separate church in 1894 as the Zion Evangelical United Brethren Church.
In 1968 the Evangelical United Brethren merged with the Methodist churches and the name was changed to Zion United Methodist Church. In 1969 the church was part of the Kulm-Jud charge.
The cornerstone of faithful believers was built upon the foundation of a former Baptist church they purchased on March 22, 1906.
In the fall of 1907, the congregation gathered to worship and praise the Lord, at a dedication led by Bishop Breyfogel.
The church was moved to its present location in 1920.
The church provided a common bond, a sanctuary to worship God, to celebrate births, youth ministry, marriages and life.
Organizations that have served the functions of the church life included the United Methodist Women, The United Methodist Men, The Sunday School, Boys and Girls Fellowship and the Choir.
Since 1910, a ladies group was organized and shared the German language until 1947 when they changed to English to encourage younger women to join their fellowship. In the 1950s-60s the men participated in a farming project the “Lord’s Acre.”
Remembrances that once filled the house of worship from 1889 to February 5, 2012 are a candelabra that honored a wedding anniversary is now a remembrance in the home of the couple’s daughter, Betty Brosz; the church pews will provide a resting place for family and friends at a local funeral home; a keyboard donated to the church will continue to offer a melodious song for the listening ear as precious memories are shared in the Dahlstrom funeral home; and a communion set was given to another church.
Each token of remembrance offers an association with members of the EUB/Methodist church family in Kulm.
Over the years faithful shepherds have come to minister to the needs of this community of believers.
The first minister in the Evangelical Church was the Rev. Ira E. Herzberg. The church ended with the faithful ministry of the Rev. Ken and Joyce Ballard.
As the doors close the sheep scatter to seek shelter and refuge with another flock, the building stands as a reminder and monument for a community of believers.
The church sign still bears a memorial plaque “In loving memory of Elsie E. (Doering) Mueller by Otto Mueller Family.”
Silently the building waits for a renewal, to once again provide a shelter to all who enter her doors.
On the quiet Dakota prairies south of Kulm, the Zion United Methodist Cemetery and Salem Evangelical Cemetery preserve the testimonies of faithful believers dedicated to the word of God.
When the church held its last worship service members of Zion United Methodist Church of Kulm shared their church family ministry with the Methodist churches in Nortonville and Edgeley Parish.
“Our Faith, the same today as yesterday and tomorrow.” –Lamentations 5:19
This column in remembrance of Zion United Methodist Church was written by Ann Knecht.