Weather Forecast


N.D. Newspaper Hall of Fame to be unveiled

The new, electronic North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame will be unveiled May 2 in dedication ceremonies at the North Dakota Heritage Center.

The opening this year of the $51.7 million addition to the Heritage Center is a highlight of the 125th anniversary of North Dakota statehood. The Newspaper Hall of Fame will be one of the center’s new features, celebrating the distinguished service of 51 North Dakota newspaper men and women.

The North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame will be hosted on a kiosk in the Heritage Center, with a display page for each of the members of the hall of fame.

Dedication of the new hall of fame will be held at 3 p.m. May 2 during the 128th annual North Dakota Newspaper Association convention at the Radisson in Bismarck. Members of the public are invited.

The North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame will be dedicated to the memory of Don Gackle, the 47th inductee, in recognition of his long leadership of NDNA and his leadership and philanthropy to the NDNA Education Foundation.

Gackle was editor and publisher of the McLean County Independent in Garrison, N.D., and founder of BHG Inc., which now publishes 11 community newspapers in the state.

The North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame was established in 1933 with the induction of George Winship, founder of the Grand Forks Herald, and Norman B. Black, pioneer publisher of The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead. Through the years it was housed in the journalism reading room at the University of North Dakota.

In 2011, directors of the NDNA Education Foundation began discussing ways to bring more visibility to the North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame and to the accomplished newspaper men and women who are enshrined in it.

That led to an agreement with the State Historical Society to host the North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame on a 32-inch touch screen at the Heritage Center.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple has been invited to make remarks at the dedication ceremony, along with Karl Lembke of the State Historical Society Foundation.

Later that evening, NDNA will induct the 52nd member of the North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame during an awards program following the convention banquet.


connections run deep

The list of North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame inductees shows strong connections among newspaper friends and families:

* The first two inductees, in 1933, were Winship and Black, who worked together in Grand Forks before Black became a pioneer publisher in Fargo.

* While there are several family connections represented in the Hall, the Black family is the only one with three generations. Norman D. Black, Norman B. Black’s son, was inducted in 1986, and Norman D. Black’s son-in-law, William Marcil, was enshrined in 2005.

* There are three pairs of brothers in the North Dakota Newspaper Hall of Fame, including: Frank Hornstein of the Pierce County Tribune in Rugby, N.D., in 1984 and his brother, Pius of the Tioga Tribune in 2000; D.J. Shults of the Mott Pioneer Press and his brother, Ralph, of the Adams County record, both in 1992, and; Howard Doherty of the Cavalier County Republican in 1998 and his brother, Ed, of the New Rockford Transcript in 1999.

* Father-son duos include: Calvin Andrist of the Divide County Journal, inducted in 1978, and his son, John, of the Crosby paper in 2000. Rilie Morgan of the Grafton Record was inducted in 1979, and in 1991, his son, John, came into the hall of fame.

* And finally, there’s a husband and wife team: Francis and Blanche Denison of the Towner County Record-Herald in Cando, N.D., were inducted in 1995.

* The first woman inducted into the hall of fame was Stella Mann of the Bismarck Tribune in 1981.