Weather Forecast


No Travel Advisory lifted north of Jamestown

5:00 p.m. Update

The North Dakota Departmetn of Transportation said a travel alert remains in effect for eastern ND due to blowing snow creating areas of scattered ice, scattered snow drifts, and reduced visibility. Included are Jamestown, Valley City, Grand Forks, Fargo, Wahpeton, and surrounding areas.

3:48 p.m. Update

The North Dakota Department of Transportation and the North Dakota Highway Patrol have lifted the No Travel Advisory for Devils Lake, Rugby and surrounding areas. In addition, areas east of Bismarck including north of Jamestown and north of Valley City have also been lifted.

12:16 p.m. Update

The Emmons County Sheriff has downgraded the No Travel Advisory to a Travel Alert for the county.

10:15 a.m.

Interstate 94 has been closed from Bismarck to Jamestown due to high winds which have been causing areas of zero visibility and hazardous travel conditions, according to the North Dakota Department of Transportation.

Motorists who drive past a road closure device may be fined up to $250.

Cities currently included in the No Travel Advisory are Bismarck, Devils Lake and Grand Forks. Motorists in these areas should not travel.

The Travel Alert includes the cities of Jamestown, Valley City, Fargo, New Salem, Linton and Napoleon, as well as the surrounding areas. The Travel Alert means motorists can travel, but should be advised of rapidly changing conditions.

NDDOT is also warning motorists that high wind conditions are making travel difficult across the state, especially for high-profile vehicles like semis, trucks, buses and SUVs. Motorists are advised to use caution when meeting and passing vehicles, and when driving through strong wind gusts.

According to the National Weather Service in Bismarck, strong winds of 40 miles an hour, gusting to 60 miles an hour, will persist throughout the state today.

County sheriffs have also issued No Travel Advised for the following counties: Burleigh, McIntosh, Emmons, Logan, Ward, Griggs, Sheridan and Pierce, Oliver and Bottineau counties.