Weather Forecast


UPDATE: Damaged cable repaired

Elections: Three city races lead primary ballot

Three Jamestown races are among the only contested offices on the June 10 primary election ballot in Stutsman County.

Incumbent Mayor Katie Andersen is being challenged by Pamela Phillips. Dwaine Heinrich is challenging incumbent Ramone Gumke for the only City Council seat up for election. Both Heinrich and Philips have previously served on the City Council.

Four candidates are seeking three seats on the Jamestown Parks and Recreation Commission. Incumbents Mike Landscoot and Larry Knoblich will be on the ballot along with challengers Kevin Miller and Richard Ryan. Joyce Heinrich is not seeking re-election to the board.

Timothy Ottmar is running uncontested for re-election as municipal judge in the only other city contest on the ballot.

Municipal races are decided at the June primary election with winners taking office in July.

Stutsman County elections

Four candidates are running for three seats on the Stutsman County Commission. All candidates will advance to the November general election where the race will be decided.

Incumbents Dennis Ova, Dale Marks and Craig Neys are being challenged by Nellie Degen.

All other county races are uncontested with Fritz Fremgen seeking re-election as state’s attorney, Chad Kaiser seeking another term as Stutsman County sheriff and The Jamestown Sun seeking to remain the county’s official newspaper.

School Board

The Jamestown Public School District has two candidates seeking the two rural positions open on the Jamestown Public School Board. Mindi Schmitz and incumbent Greg Allen have filed for the positions. Bob Toso, former JPS superintendent, and incumbent Heidi Larson have filed to run for the three Jamestown seats open on the School Board. The third position could be decided by a write-in candidate, according to Linda Chadduck, Stutsman County recorder and election official.

Absentee ballots will be available May 1, Chadduck said. Early voting runs Monday through Saturday from May 27 to June 9 at the Stutsman County Courthouse. The early voting polls are open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturdays.

The Jamestown Civic Center will serve as the election center on June 10 with rural precinct 1 polling at Pingree, rural precinct 2 voting at Kensal and rural precinct 5 voting at Medina.

Sun reporter Keith Norman can be reached at 701-952-8452 or by email at