Weather Forecast


SCDRC approves grants for projects

The 2014 South Central Dakota Regional Council Community Development Block Grant Scoring and Ranking Committee includes, front, from left, Kyle Haas, Logan County; Craig Neys, Stutsman County; Vince Watkins, LaMoure County, and Carrie Swanson, Griggs County; and back, from left, committee Chair Donald Kosel, McIntosh County; Candy Middlestead, Dickey County; Heather Carr; Foster County; Phil Leitner, Barnes County, and Mary Hager, Wells County.

The South Central Dakota Regional Council approved grants totaling more than $275,000 at its annual Community Development Block Grant scoring and ranking session May 14.

Four jurisdictions submitted applications for CDBG grant funds totaling $293,303 in requests. The nine-county region is estimated to have $275,045 in grant funds to recommend to the governor to award.

The 2014 SCDRC Scoring and Ranking Committee included one representative from the council’s nine counties. The members are: Donald Kosel, McIntosh County, who was elected chairperson; Phil Leitner, Barnes County; Candace Middlestead, Dickey County; Carrie Swanson, Griggs County; Mary Hager, Wells County; Craig Neys, Stutsman County; Heather Carr, Foster County; Kyle Haas, Logan County, and Vince Watkins, LaMoure County.

The committee voted to recommend to the governor awarding the following grants to these projects: $36,011 to the city of Cleveland in Stutsman County to assist a sewer system and lift station upgrade project; $199,988 to assist the city of McHenry in Foster County with a lagoon rehabilitation project, $60,780 to Stutsman County to assist a removal of architectural barriers in the Law Enforcement Center bathrooms project, and  $13,869 to the city of Kulm to assist the Kulm Senior Center improvements.

 “CDBG funds are important in our region to assist in providing safe communities through these public facility projects from infrastructure to removal of architectural barriers and assisting senior citizens,” said Deb Kantrud, SCDRC executive director.

Eligibility requirements include that the funds assist communities with 51 percent or more low to moderate-income people, projects that address removal of architectural barriers in public facilities or special populations, such as senior citizens.