Weather Forecast


Young, Posner qualify for nationals

University of Jamestown's Amber Posner paces herself, on a snow-covered trail, to a ninth-place finish Friday at the North Star Cross Country Conference Championships held at Pipestem Reservoir. John M. Steiner / The Sun1 / 2
Jamestown's Matthew Young keeps ahead of other runners Friday while running in the snow at Pipestem Reservoir for the North Star Cross Country Conference Championships. Young went on to win the meet in the men's division. John M. Steiner / The Sun2 / 2

University of Jamestown's Matthew Young is headed home.

The junior from Woodland, Wash., won a third consecutive North Star Athletic Association men's cross country individual championship Friday at the course at Parkhurst north of Jamestown. Young is now off to the NAIA national meet scheduled for Nov. 19 in Vancouver, just a 25-minute drive from home.

"I'm pretty stoked," Young said. "This summer I drove down to where the course was and ran around on it. It's about 20 miles from home."

Young bested Waldorf's Nic Ganzeveld and Andrew Murley to the finish line Friday, crossing the 8,000 meters in a personal best time of 24 minutes, 34.7 seconds. Young set his previous best time—25:57.9—at last year's NAIA National Cross Country Championships in Illinois.

Young finished 93rd in that race, and he hopes to make a run at All-American honors later this month. He would accomplish that with a top 30 finish.

"I think the last couple of years 30th was right around 25:15," Young said. "This course is on the side of a hill, and there's a couple of pretty challenging parts. I'm shooting for a 25-flat."

The conditions Friday at Parkhurst were a bit challenging with the snow. Young said Murley took over the lead at around the first mile, and Ganzeveld came into the fray later, but Young was able to edge them down the stretch. Ganzeveld finished less than two seconds back.

"At the start it was obviously cold, and I think everyone had that in the back of their mind," Young said. "But it's something everyone has to suffer through and you can't let it get to you.

"I really wanted to get this one, with us moving to the (Great Plains Athletic Conference) next year," Young added. "To win the North Star all three years that I was here is pretty special."

The Jimmies' Amber Posner is also headed back to the national meet. The senior from Cushing, Minn., punched her ticket to Washington with a ninth-place finish Friday in the women's 5K race.

Posner covered Parkhurst in 19:41.5. She placed 253rd (19:55.01) at last year's national meet in Illinois.

"I think it was her best race of the year," Jimmie women's cross country coach Jim Clark said. "She got second in the conference last year and ninth this year, but a lot of people in the conference stepped it up this year. It's a nice way for her to finish her senior season as an all-conference runner and national qualifier."

The Jimmie women placed second as a team. The men finished fifth.

"It was our best team run of the year," Clark said. " We came a long ways from where we started.

"Finishing on a good note should kinda give us a boost going into track season."

North Star Men's Cross Country

Team results

1. Dickinson State 43; 2. Valley City State 66; 3. Dakota State 75; 4. Waldorf 88; 5. Jamestown 99, 6. Viterbo 165.


1. Matthew Young, Jamestown, 24:34.7; 2. Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf; 3. Andrew Murley, Waldorf; 4. Maxwell Cruse, Dakota State; 5. Braden Curnow, Dakota State; 6. Christopher Moreno, Dickinson State; 7. Rodney Henry, Dickinson State; 8. Dennis Gonzalez, Valley City State; 9. Tristen Guillot, Dickinson State; 10. Daniel Aguirre, Dickinson State.

Coach of the Year: Shayne Wittkopp, Dickinson State.

Jimmie results

22. Daniel Palmer, 27:52.2; 23. Donavan Moser, 27.57.1; 25. Aaron Ford, 28:00.5; 28. Dustin Wagner, 28:36.9; 30. Dakota Wagner, 29:00; 31. Michael Sampers, 29:08.

North Star Women's Cross Country

Team results

1. Dickinson State 27; 2. Jamestown 66; 3. Valley City State 66; 4. Dakota State 94; 5. Waldorf 112; 6. Viterbo 135.


1. Marissa Kuik, Waldorf, 18:33.3; 2. Jacey Wilson, Dickinson State; 3. Grace Miller, Valley City State; 4. Bailey Smith, Dickinson State; 5. Haley Swanson, Viterbo; 6. Brittney Grove, Dickinson State; 7. Julia Falcon, Dickinson State; 8. Lisa Townsend, Dickinson State; 9. Amber Posner, Jamestown; 10. Cassidy Peterson, Jamestown.

Coach of the Year: Shayne Wittkopp, Dickinson State.

Jimmie results

10. Cassidy Peterson, 19:59.5; 13. Allison Foster, 20:32.8; 16. Hannah Christenson, 20:45.1; 18. Lindi Chadwick, 20:53.4; 22. Alyson Freitag 21:10.2; 26. Amber Robinson, 22:10.1.

Michael Savaloja

Hometown: Churchs Ferry, N.D.; College: North Dakota

A recipient of the NDHSCA Award of Merit, Savaloja has been reporting sports for The Sun since 2008.

Follow on Twitter: @MichaelSavaloja

(701) 952-8461