Weather Forecast


New Rockford school project approved

Jimmies collect awards

Sun file photo / John M. Steiner Sarah Becker has been named the player of the year and the top offensive player in the North Star Athletic Association. The Jimmies had five players named all-conference.

Sarah Becker has been named the North Star Athletic Association’s most valuable athlete, offensive player of the year and a first-team all-conference selection.

Becker, a 6-foot middle hitter from Rochester, Minn., has the top hitting percentage in the NAIA at .502. She finished the season with 337 kills and 113 blocks, including 20 solos.

Becker amassed 1,145 kills and her 546 blocks are a school record.

Becker was one of five Jimmies named first- or second-team all-conference.

Joining Becker on the first team were junior hitter Janna Johnson and sophomore outside hitter Alaina Brown.

Johnson, from Northwood, N.D., had 275 kills and 65 blocks.

Brown had 190 kills, but she was also lethal from the service line. Her 80 aces rank her No. 2 in the NAIA.

Setter Kelsey Deragisch was named to the second team. The Marshall, Minn., native was second on the team with 562 assists. She finished her career with 2,382 sets. She also had 136 aces, including 33 this season.

Anderson, a freshman from Grand Forks, had 140 kills and ranked 16th in the NAIA in blocks per game at 1.140.

The Jimmies went 9-0 in NSAA play, dropping just two sets all season.

Despite their 26-8 record, they’re unlikely to get an at-large bid into the national tournament. Getting an at-large bid requires being ranked in the top 20. The Jimmies received votes for much of the season, but have not of late despite not losing since Oct. 18.

North Star Athletic Association Volleyball

All-conference first team

Sarah Becker, Middle Hitter, Sr., University of Jamestown; Josette Glatt, Right Side, Jr. Mayville State; Aurissa Martens, Middle Hitter, Senior, Valley City State; Janna Johnson, RS, Jr., UJ; Katie Wangberg, Setter, Jr. Mayville State; Alaina Brown, Outside Hitter, Soph., UJ; Remington Werner, OH, Soph., Mayville State; Caitlin Pick, MH, Jr., Dakota State.

Second team

Megan Goedert, OH, Jr., Presentation College; Katherine Gonzalez, Libero, Jr., Dakota State; Kelsey Deragisch, Setter, Sr., UJ; Paige O’Connor, Libero, Fr., Mayville State; Emily Plowman, Libero, Soph., VCSU; Kaitlin Anderson, MH, Fr., UJ.

Most valuable athlete: Becker.

Most valuable senior: Martens.

Newcomer of the year: Wangberg.

Defensive player of the year: Gonzalez.

Setter of the year: Wangberg.

Offensive player of the year: Becker.

Coach of the year: Lindsey Johnson, Mayville State.