Weather Forecast


Petsch named top defender

University of Jamestown senior safety J.T. Petsch has been named the North Star Athletic Association’s defensive player of the year.

Petsch had a team-leading 81 tackles for the Jimmies, who went 3-7 overall, but tied for the top spot in the league at 3-1 with Valley City State.

A whopping 55 players in the 5-team league were named all-conference, meaning approximately half of the starters in the conference were selected.

Joining Petsch on the all-conference team from the Jimmies were defensive lineman Chris Englestad and Brad Brooks, quarterback Beau Eriksson, wide receiver Jake Erbes and offensive linemen Jared Steinberger and Mike Findlay.

Wide receiver Trent Roemmich, running backs D’Marco Smith and Chris Johnson, tight end Derrick Dohmann and linebacker Jeremy Cole were named honorable mention

Valley City State running back Derek Elliot was named the league’ MVP. The Valley City native finished as the school’s all-time leading rusher with 3,489 yards.

North Star Athletic Association

All-conference football team

Valley City State: Derek Elliott, RB, Sr.; Jacob Miller, TE, Jr.; Gustavo Ramirez, OL, Jr.; George Trujillo, OL, Jr.; Jake Thurston, LB, Sr.; Matt Craft, DL, Sr.; Dwayne Fearon, DL, Sr.; Thomas Cortez, K, Jr.

University of Jamestown: Chris Engelstad, DE, Sr.; Brad Brooks, DL, Sr.; J.T. Petsch, DB, Sr.; Beau Eriksson, QB, Soph.; Jake Erbes, WR, Sr.; Jared Steinberger, OL, Jr.; Mike Findlay, OL, Sr.

Mayville State: Jacob Grosz, LB, Jr.; Rashad Flanders, CB, Jr.; Dylan Midstokke, CB, Sr.; Josh Jeffries, DB, Sr.; Aaron Johnson, DL, Soph.; Aaron Popple, OL, Sr.

Dakota State: Zach Ely, WR, Jr.; Josh Licht, DE, Sr.; Ronnie Jorgenson, DL, Jr.; Zac Woods, OL, Jr.; Perry King, Sr., KR.

Presentation College: Dustin Yorek, OL, Sr.; Devin Mohn, RB, Jr.; Matthew James, WR, Jr.; Alex Karpstein, DL, Jr.

Honorable mention

VCSU: Fontayne Fuga, LB, Sr.; Taylor Carvalho, OL, Sr.; Colby Lum, WR, Jr.; Austyn Flores, LB, Jr.; Kurtis Walls, QB, Fr.

Jamestown: Trent Roemmich, WR, Jr.; Chris Johnson, RB, Jr.; D’Marco Smith, RB, Soph.; Derrick Dohmann, TE, Sr.; Jeremy Cole, LB, Sr.

Mayville State: Dominque Bradley, Sr., RB; Keith Osgood, QB, Sr.; Taylor Kunkel, WR, Sr.; Jerril Jenkins, RB, Jr.; Travis Ahlgren, LB, Jr.

Dakota State: Austin Ross, DB, Soph.; Bobby Tisch, TE, Soph.; Ben Kullos, LB, Soph.; Cole Whisenhunt, QB, Sr.; Chad John, LB, Sr.

Presentation College: Stephen Braswell, QB, Jr.; Gavin Voss, K/P, Jr.; Derek Buthe, DL, Jr.; Tate Rinehart, OL, Jr.; Jordan Taylor, DB, Soph.

Postseason awards

Offensive MVP: Derek Elliott, VCSU.

Defensive MVP: J.T. Petsch, UJ.

Most valuable senior: Jake Thurston, VCSU.

Coach of the year: Dennis McCulloch, VCSU.