Weather Forecast


Hoge named NSAA MVP

The Jimmies dominated the first season of the North Star Athletic Association, winning the regular season and tournament titles with a record of 9-1.

It would stand to figure they’d clean up on the award front and they did that too on Tuesday.

The Jimmies, who went 17-12 on the season, had the MVP, newcomer of the year, coach of the year and three all-conference players.

Mark Hoge was named MVP, most valuable graduating senior and first-team all conference. Hoge, headed for his second straight All-American award, averaged 18 points, 6.1 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 2 steals per game.

Tucker also earned first-team all-NSAA recognition and was named newcomer of the year. The Joliet, Ill., native averaged 17.8 points, 4 rebounds and 2 assists per game.

Taylor Newton was named to the second-team. Newton, who moved into the starting lineup at the midway point of the season, averaged 10.1 points, 3 rebounds and 2 assists per game.

Justin Wieck was named coach of the year. The Jimmies were just 5-11 before New Year’s, but lost just once after Jan. 1.

With just five teams, the NSAA does not receive an automatic bid into the national tournament and the Jimmies’ early-season struggles kept them from gaining enough traction in the polls for an at-large bid.

Dickinson State joins the conference next year, meaning the league will then have an automatic bid into nationals.

North Star Athletic Association


All-Conference Team

First team

Mark Hoge, G, Jamestown, Sr.; Dylan Hale, G, Sr., Dakota State; Brequan Tucker, G, Jamestown, Soph.; Yusuf Vinson, F, Sr., Dakota State; Aaron Duske, G, Valley City State, Sr.

Second team

A.J. McDonald, G, Valley City State, Jr.; Miguel Sansavour, C, Dakota State, Jr.; Taylor Newton, G, Jamestown, Jr.; Anthony Hendricks, G, Presentation, Sr.; Jonathon Butler, F, Mayville State, Sr.

Most Valuable Player: Mark Hoge, Jamestown.

Most Valuable Graduating Senior: Hoge.

Defensive player of the Year: Miguel Sansavour, Dakota State.

Newcomer of the Year: Brequan Tucker, Jamestown.

Coach of the Year: Justin Wieck, Jamestown.