Weather Forecast


Badal to retire in February

Jimmies tabbed for preseason teams

The University of Jamestown’s Janna Johnson and Alaina Brown have both been selected to the eight-member North Star Athletic Association preseason all-conference volleyball team.

Both Johnson and Brown were named to the NSAA all-conference volleyball first team in 2013. Johnson is a 6-foot senior right-side hitter for the Jimmies from Northwood, N.D., while Brown is a 5-9 junior outside hitter from Bloomington, Minn.

Also named to the 2014 NSAA preseason volleyball all-conference team are Dakota State’s Katherine Gonzalez, Caitlin Pick and Stacey Westby (Schuller) and Mayville State’s Josette Glatt, Remington Werner and Katie Wangberg.

Glatt, a senior right-side hitter, was named the NSAA volleyball preseason player of the year by conference coaches.

The Jimmies kick off the season on Thursday in a tournament at St. Thomas University, Florida. They’ll face Missouri Baptist College and Saint Thomas University on Thursday, and West Virginia Institute of Technology and Warner University on Friday.

Jimmie football players   earn preseason honors

The University of Jamestown landed seven selections to the 2014 North Star Athletic Association preseason all-conference football team, which was voted on by league coaches and announced Tuesday.

A total of 14 offensive and 13 defensive players were selected to the preseason team. Coaches picked Mayville State’s senior defensive back Rashad Flanders as the NSAA preseason player of the year.

University of Jamestown junior quarterback Beau Eriksson, of Devils Lake, leads the list of Jimmies named to the team. He’s joined by senior offensive lineman Sean Emry, of Las Vegas, junior wide receiver Mike Sena, of Fontana, Calif., and sophomore tight end Gavin Farley, of Centerville, Minn.

University of Jamestown defense players named to the preseason conference team are senior lineman Garrett Tenney, of Gardnerville, Nev., junior linebacker Jarelle Miller, of Orlanda, Fla., and junior defensive back Wes Worthen, of Columbus, Ga.

2014 NSAA Football Preseason All-Conference Team


Beau Eriksson, University of Jamestown; Stephen Baswell, Presentation; Jesse Carney, Dickinson State; Jerril Jenkins, Mayville State; Zac Woods, Dakota State; Tate Rienhart, Presentation; George Trujillo, Valley City State; Sean Emry, University of Jamestown; Kelli Copp, Dickinson State; Zach Ely, Dakota State; JT Keith, Dickinson State; Mike Sena, University of Jamestown; Gavin Farley, University of Jamestown; Thomas Cortez, Valley City State.


Zach McBeain, Valley City State; Garrett Tenney, University of Jamestown; Sam Herauf, Dickinson State; Aaron Johnson, Mayville State; Alex Karpstein, Presentation; Travis Ahlgren, Mayville State; Jarelle Miller, University of Jamestown; Alex Huitzil, Dickinson State; Jacob Grosz, Mayville State; Rashad Flanders, Mayville State; Austin Lake, Presentation; Paten Asuncion, Valley City State; Wes Worthen, University of Jamestown.