Weather Forecast


Blue Jays put three into finals

The Jamestown High School wrestling team put three into today’s semifinals at the Storhaug Invite on Friday in Lisbon.

Paxton Mewes (138), Triston Shipley (182) and Eathan Gumke (195) each made the final four in the respective weight classes. The Blue Jays are in 10th place in team competition out of 20, scoring 47 points.

Mewes pinned Ellendale-Edgeley-Kulm’s Brookston Mathern in 1 minute, 24 seconds and punched semifinal ticket with a 7-2 decision over New Salem’s Cullen Seeger.

Shipley pinned South Border’s Tyler Kuntz in 2:13 and won by fall over Oakes’ Jed Bopp in 2:58.

Gumke didn’t wrestle much, recording two first-period pins. Class A’s No. 1-ranked wrestler at 195, Gumke pinned Lucas Bjur of E-E-K in 1:23. Then, he beat Wahpeton’s Hunter McCall by fall in 1:46.

The trio has the chance to score plenty of points for the Blue Jays today, but so do six others. Kane Barnick (113), Kyle Dupre (132), Jakob Browning (138), Drew Topp (152), Caleb Ellingson (170) and Kyle Anderson (220) are still alive and can take as high as third.

South Border’s 92 points lead after day one, as the Mustangs have seven semifinalists. Wahpeton (81.5), Lisbon (80), Valley City (75) and Oakes (66) round out the top five.

Storhaug Invite

At Lisbon

Team scores

1, South Border 92. 2, Wahpeton 81.5. 3, Lisbon, 80. 4, Valley City 75. 5, Oakes 66. 6, Napoleon 56. 7, Central Cass 53. 8, Linton-HMB 49. 9, Border West 48. 10, Jamestown 47. 11, Hillsboro 46. 12, Bismarck St. Mary’s 41. 13, Kindred 32.5. 14, LaMoure 25.5. 15, Grafton 22. 16, Breckenridge 16.5. 17, New Salem 16. 18, Lisbon JV 10. 19, Ellendale-Edgeley-Kulm 8. 20, Tiospa-Zina 2.

Today’s semifinalists

106: Tyler Toepke-Floyd (South Border), Brandon Oien (Linton-HMB), Andrew Jahnke (Central Cass), Ethan Elijah (Lisbon).

113: Austin Rust (CC), Brock Aberle (Lisbon), Wyatt Nagel (L-HMB), Gavin Lenoue (Wahpeton).

120: Conrad Kondos (Breckenridge), Josh Schlosser (L-HMB), Michael Zink (Kindred), Mark Hastings (Hillsboro).

126: Luke Hastings (Hillsboro), Chase Jacob (L-HMB), Tate Barnhardt (St. Mary’s), Grant Johnson (Lisbon).

132: Erik Loepp (Oakes), Andy Nolz (132), Caleb Dorich (LaMoure), Jakob Ashline (VC).

138: Jonathan Grunefelder (Napoleon), Logan Meyer (Wahpeton), Paxton Mewes (Jamestown), Tanner Thompson (Kindred).

145: Dane Fischer (St. Mary’s), Wyatt Meyer (Wahpeton), Jaron Lunday (Grafton), Joel Weber (South Border).

152: Nash Bettenhausen (SB), Dylan Pullis (BW), Dalton Jangula (Napoleon), Kyle Schultz (CC).

160: Dylan Urbach (Lisbon), Brayden Kuntz (SB), Mark Miller (VC), Scott Ketterling (Oakes).

170: Cole Ehrlin (Oakes), Austin Maanum (BW), Joe Nelson (Lisbon), Kameron McNary (Wahpeton).

182: Mathew Gross (Napoleon), Zach Doty (VC), Triston Shipley (Jamestown), Trevor Meidinger (SB).

195: Eathan Gumke (Jamestown), Nick Becker (Napoleon), Tucker Meidinger (SB), Dustin Lindgren (VC).

220: Jordan Magnuson (VC), James Thielges (SB), Wyatt Smith (Lisbon), Josh Deike (Wahpeton).

285: Michael Kelly (Oakes), Jackson Grad (St. Mary’s), Brady Siebels (Hillsboro), Devin Roesler (CC).