Weather Forecast


Manning, Chiefs top list

Peyton Manning (18) was named the All-Pro quarterback for the second year in a row on Monday. (AP photo)

The Kansas City Chiefs placed a league-high three players — running back Jamaal Charles, safety Eric Berry and punt returner Dexter McCluster — on the 2013 All-NFL team, chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America.

Only five players from the PFWA’s 2012 All-NFL team were repeats: Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson, Houston Texans defensive end J.J. Watt, and two players from the Seattle Seahawks, cornerback Richard Sherman and safety Earl Thomas. Johnson is a member of the PFWA’s All-NFL team for the third consecutive season, the longest current streak.

Manning was voted All-NFL by the PFWA for the seventh time in his career and Cleveland Browns offensive tackle Joe Thomas earned his fourth career All-NFL selection. A total of 17 players, including Minnesota Vikings rookie kickoff returner Cordarrelle Patterson, were first-time All-NFL honorees.

Nine clubs — the Arizona Cardinals, Carolina Panthers, Cleveland, Denver, Detroit, Philadelphia Eagles, St. Louis Rams, Seattle and Tampa Bay Buccaneers — each had two players on the All-NFL team. In all, 16 clubs are represented among the 27 players honored.



QB: Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

RB: Jamaal Charles, Kansas City Chiefs; LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia Eagles

WR: Josh Gordon, Cleveland Browns ; Calvin Johnson, Detroit Lions

TE: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans Saints

C: Ryan Kalil, Carolina Panthers

G: Evan Mathis, Philadelphia Eagles; Louis Vasquez, Denver Broncos

T: Joe Staley, San Francisco 49ers; Joe Thomas, Cleveland Browns


DE: Robert Quinn, St. Louis Rams; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

DT: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit Lions

OLB: Lavonte David, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis Colts

MLB: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers

CB: Richard Sherman, Seattle Seahawks; Patrick Peterson, Arizona Cardinals

S: Eric Berry, Kansas City Chiefs; Earl Thomas, Seattle Seahawks

Special Teams

PK: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens

P: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis Rams

KR: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota Vikings

PR: Dexter McCluster, Kansas City Chiefs

ST: Justin Bethel, Arizona

Titans tab Whisenhunt

The Tennessee Titans named Ken Whisenhunt as their new head coach on Monday, hoping the former San Diego offensive coordinator can turn around a team that has not made the playoffs in five seasons.

Whisenhunt replaced Mike Munchak, who was fired after the Titans finished second to the Indianapolis Colts in the AFC South division with a 7-9 record.

“This is a big day for this franchise,” Titans President Tommy Smith said. “Ken is a well-respected coach in this league and I am looking forward to seeing his vision become reality for this team.”

Jackson offering reward

Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver DeSean Jackson is offering a $50,000 reward for information in helping find those responsible for burglarizing his home last week, according to the Philadelphia Daily News.

Burglars broke into Jackson’s South Philadelphia home while he was away on vacation and reportedly stole $250,000 in cash, $125,000 in jewelry and two semi-automatic handguns.

Sanders says he’ll suit up

Deion Sanders said he will suit up for this year’s Pro Bowl.

In the new format for the Pro Bowl this season, the 46-year-old Sanders and fellow Hall of Famer Jerry Rice will be captains of the two teams and will select players from the Pro Bowl rosters during a two-day draft a few days before the Jan. 26 game in Honolulu.

But Sanders offered a wrinkle on Monday when he tweeted: “Ladies and Gentlemen I am officially announcing “I WILL SUIT UP IN HAWAII” Please let @JerryRice know that a real captain leads by example!”