Sen. John Hoeven announced on Tuesday, Sept. 10, that the U.S. Department of Agriculture will be accepting applications through the Community Facilities Program totaling $150 million nationwide.

Funds would be available to use for relief in rural communities recovering from natural disasters. Counties eligible in North Dakota include:

  • Adams
  • Barnes
  • Cass
  • Dickey
  • Emmons
  • Grand Forks
  • Grant
  • Hettinger
  • LaMoure
  • Logan
  • McKenzie
  • Morton
  • Pembina
  • Ransom
  • Richland
  • Sargent
  • Steele
  • Traill
  • Walsh

According to Hoeven, over 100 types of projects are eligible for funds and applications will be accepted until the funds have been exhausted. Municipalities, public bodies, nonprofit organizations and federally recognized Native American tribes are all eligible to apply.

“We recognize the tough times facing rural America, which is why we worked to provide these USDA funds to assist our communities as they recover from the losses and challenges caused by natural disasters, like flooding,” Hoeven said.