Dayne Headland inducted into credit union Hall of Fame

Dayne Headland is longest-standing board member at FCCU.

Dayne Headland.JPG
Dayne Headland, center, was recently inducted into the Dakota Credit Union Association Hall of Fame. He is pictured with Steve Schultz, left, president/CEO of First Community Credit Union, and Jeff Olson, president/CEO, Dakota Credit Union Association.
Contributed / Dakota Credit Union Association
We are part of The Trust Project.

Dayne Headland of rural Ypsilanti, North Dakota, was inducted into the Dakota Credit Union Association (DakCU) Hall of Fame during the awards banquet held at the Holiday Inn – Rushmore Plaza in Rapid City on May 11. The Hall of Fame honor is a lifetime achievement and the most prestigious of all DakCU awards.

Headland began his credit union journey more than 52 years ago when he became a member of First Community Credit Union. He was employed by the credit union from 1982 to 1991 as an agriculture loan officer in Jamestown before leaving to pursue farming full time. He then ran for the FCCU Board of Directors in 1992 and has served for the past 29 years. He plans to retire next year.

Headland is the longest-standing board member at FCCU.

“Every decision he made, he gave a lot of thought to and was not afraid to share his opinions," said Steve Schultz, FCCU president/CEO. "He trusted the leadership FCCU had in place, but also wanted to make sure we spent our credit union members’ money wisely. In my 20 years of working with Dayne, he has always shown consistent leadership. He has left a lasting legacy on our credit union."

What to read next
The event is part of the annual field tours July 19 at the Carrington Research Extension Center.
The two have been employed at JRCC since 2015.
He works for North Dakota Farmers Union Insurance.
The event is on July 18.