Jamestown Lions hear reports, two recognized

Clayton Wolff received the Melvin Jones Fellowship award.

Clayton Wolff
Clayton Wolff, center, receives the Melvin Melvin Jones Fellowship award, presented by Dwaine Heinrich and Kathy Boe, past district governors for Lions. Submitted photo

At the May 12 Lions meeting, Kathy Boe opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and Glen Nagel gave the table prayer. The meeting included reports on volunteers for Meals on Wheels, Stutsman County Fairgrounds clean up, sweet corn sales and the city forester’s fruit tree plot.

In other business, Past District Governors Boe and Dwaine Heinrich presented the Certificate of Membership to new member Craig Thierer. Also receiving recognition was longtime member Clayton Wolff, awarded the Melvin Jones Fellowship award for his service to Lions and to the community. Family members attending the ceremony were Wolff’s daughter, Wendy Kaseman, grandson, Lucas Dockter, and a great-granddaughter, Maddie.

As a result of Wolff's award, $1,000 has been donated to the Lions Club International Foundation in Wolff’s name. This is the official charitable organization of Lions Clubs International and supports Lions’ compassionate works by providing grant funding for its local and global humanitarian efforts.

Lions Club worldwide recognizes outstanding individuals by bestowing on them an award that is named for its founder, Melvin Jones. This award is the highest form of recognition and embodies humanitarian ideas consistent with the nature and purposes of Lionism. The recipient of this award becomes a model of exemplary service to his club and the community which it serves. The Melvin Jones Fellowship Award is a nationwide award.

The next Jamestown Lions meeting will be at 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 26, at Sabir's Buffalo City Grill. Guests are welcome, and for information on becoming a Lion or attending, contact Randy Lebahn at 701-320-1678.


Craig Thierer
Craig Thierer, center, is a new member of the Jamestown Lions. Presenting him with the Certificate of Membership are Dwaine Henrich and Kathy Boe, past district governors for Lions. Submitted photo

What To Read Next
Get Local