North Dakota County Teachers of the Year from Jamestown region named

Teachers are nominated for the honor.

JSSP School News

BISMARCK — State School Superintendent Kirsten Baesler praised the 42 North Dakota educators who have been named as County Teachers of the Year for 2023, saying their passion for serving students and families uphold the state’s tradition of excellence in public education.

“Our county Teachers of the Year are among our best at educating the next generation of young North Dakotans. They impart knowledge in reading, math, science, and other subjects, and they do it with passion, empathy, imagination, and a spirit of service,” Baesler said. “They embody the best qualities of the teaching profession.”

The 2023 county winners from the Jamestown region are:

Barnes: Kelly Scott, Barnes County North, Wimbledon

Dickey: Kelli Gebhardt, Oakes Public Schools, Oakes


Eddy: Laura Hager, New Rockford-Sheyenne Public School, New Rockford

Emmons: Joan Hettich, Linton Public School, Linton

Griggs: Marissa Dahl, Griggs County Central, Cooperstown

Kidder: Jennifer Kallenbach, Kidder County Public Schools, Steele

LaMoure: Dawn Schmitt, LaMoure Public School, LaMoure

Logan: Tina Nitschke, Gackle-Streeter Public School, Gackle

McIntosh: Jessica Schmidt, Ashley Public School, Ashley

Ransom: Kortney Groettum Vesel, Lisbon High School, Lisbon


Stutsman: Danny Fischer, Medina Public School, Medina

Wells: Kori Jensen, Harvey Public School, Harvey

Baesler’s goal has been to have County Teacher of the Year honorees from all of North Dakota’s 53 counties.

County Teacher of the Year candidates were nominated in January and February. A total of 146 educators were nominated from 48 counties; of those, 83 applied for a county award. The applications were then reviewed and scored, and winners from 41 counties were chosen earlier this month. Nominations came from students, family members, teachers, and school administrators. Anyone who believes a North Dakota teacher is deserving of recognition may make a nomination.

The county awards are part of North Dakota’s state Teacher of the Year recognition program. County Teacher of the Year winners will be sent applications to be considered for state Teacher of the Year.

North Dakota law requires that the 2024 state Teacher of the Year be named before Sept. 30, 2023. The 2024 North Dakota Teacher of the Year’s term begins Jan. 1, 2024, and will run through Dec. 31, 2024. Additional details about the selection process and qualifications are listed on the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction’s website.

What To Read Next
Get Local