The North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame has announced the selection of its 25th class of nominees, now on the organization’s ballot as candidates for induction into the Hall of Honorees.

Each year, nominees are chosen from a field of candidates submitted by the general public. Twenty-two finalists in 10 categories have been recommended for consideration this year for their contribution to North Dakota’s history and western culture.

The final group of inductees will be determined by North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame trustees through a ballot process. Voting will begin after the NDCHF Annual Meeting taking place Feb. 14-15 at 4 Bears Casino & Lodge in New Town, North Dakota. Inductees will be honored June 19-20 with a dinner and ceremony at the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame and Tjaden Terrace in Medora, North Dakota.

The 2020 nominees being considered for induction to the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame are:

Cowboy Long Rider – Donald Stearns (Bowman), Dorvan Solberg (Williston)

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Leaders of Ranch & Rodeo – Robert Luger (Fort Yates), Virgil Hertz (New


Special Achievement: North Dakota Stockmen’s Association, North Dakota State Fair

Pre-1940s Ranching: James Uhlman (Williston), Martin Hovde (Williston),

Modern Era Ranching: Philip Baker (Independence), Steve Brooks (Bowman)

Ranches: Black Leg Ranch (McKenzie), Hermanson Horse Ranch (Mandan)

Pre-1970s Rodeo: Dale Carlson (Elgin), Carroll Johnston (Watford City)

Modern Era Rodeo: Rockie Kukla (Killdeer), Harvey Billadeau (Parshall),

Donald Neidhardt (Richardton), Phil Haugen (Williston)

Rodeo Arena: James Cook (Beach), Mary Carlson (Elgin)

Rodeo Livestock: Why Not Minot (Flasher), 44 Magnum (Bottineau)

The North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame, incidentally celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2020, remains committed to the dedication and effort required to continue to honor the cowboy heroes and heroines that paved the way for today’s ranchers, rodeo participants and fans.

“We are proud of our role, honoring important figures in North Dakota’s ranch, rodeo and Native American history,” said Rick Thompson, executive director, “and our members and supporters are second to none.”