Absentee voting begins; voters to decide several races

Absentee voting began Sept. 29. Election Day is Nov. 8.

sample ballot for nov election 100522.jpg
Voters will be looking at a two-sided ballot like this one for the upcoming Nov. 8. election.
John M. Steiner / The Jamestown Sun
We are part of The Trust Project.

JAMESTOWN – Absentee voting has begun in Stutsman County, and voters will decide races for the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives as well as statewide and local races.

Absentee ballots for the Nov. 8 general election are available at the Stutsman County Courthouse. The last day to drop off absentee ballots is Monday, Nov. 7, at the Stutsman County Courthouse. If the absentee ballot is mailed, the last day it may be postmarked is Nov. 7.

Individuals voting by absentee ballot must provide a valid North Dakota driver’s license or a non-driver’s ID card, a tribal government-issued ID card, long-term care ID certificate, passport or military ID. Individuals with a disability that prevents them from traveling away from home to obtain an acceptable form of identification may use an attester who must provide his or her name, a North Dakota driver’s license or a non-driver’s ID card, a tribal identification number and sign the absentee ballot application form to attest to the applicant’s North Dakota residency and voting eligibility.

Early voting will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 31 through Nov. 4 at the Stutsman County Courthouse.

Voting on Election Day will be held at the Jamestown Civic Center and American Legion in Medina. Voters will need to provide a valid North Dakota driver’s license or a non-driver’s ID card, a tribal government-issued ID card or a long-term care ID certificate.


Individuals voting early or at the polling locations on Nov. 8 must provide a valid North Dakota driver’s license or a non-driver’s ID card, a tribal government issued ID card or long-term care ID certificate. If an individual’s acceptable form of identification does not include a North Dakota residential address or date of birth or the address is not current, the individual may supplement the ID with a current utility bill, a current bank statement, a check or a document issued by a federal, state, local or tribal government or a paycheck.

Stutsman County

Voters in Stutsman County will vote on races for sheriff, state’s attorney and three seats on the Stutsman County Commission. Voters will also decide races for the supervisor of the Stutsman County Soil Conservation District and director of the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District.

All positions are four-year terms.

The Stutsman County Commission seats held by Steve Cichos, Ramone Gumke and Denny Ova are on the ballot. Gumke and Ova did not seek reelection.

Cichos is seeking reelection for the county commission. He has served on the commission since 2018. Chad Wolsky and Jerry Bergquist are seeking their first terms.

Stutsman County Sheriff Chad Kaiser and Stutsman County State’s Attorney Fritz Fremgen are running unopposed. Geneva Kaiser is running unopposed for director of the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, and Bernard Wanzek is running unopposed for the supervisor of the Stutsman County Conservation County.

Voters will also decide on the county’s official newspaper. The Jamestown Sun is the only newspaper listed on the ballot.

District 29

Voters will decide on state senators and representatives from odd-numbered legislative districts, which includes District 29.


Sen. Terry Wanzek, R-Jamestown, faces Democratic challenger Ben Vig for the district’s lone Senate seat in the North Dakota Legislature.

Democratic candidate Charles Linderman will challenge Reps. Don Vigessa, R-Cooperstown, and Craig Headland, R-Montpelier, for one of the two seats for the North Dakota House of Representatives.


The U.S. Senate seat currently held by Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D., is on the ballot. Rick Becker, who is running as an independent candidate, and Katrina Christiansen, a Democrat, will challenge Hoeven for the Senate seat.

Voters will decide North Dakota’s lone member of the U.S. House of Representatives, which is held by Rep. Kelly Armstrong, R-N.D., who was first elected to Congress in 2018. Challenger Cara Mund, who is running as an independent candidate, will challenge Armstrong for the seat.


Voters will decide on five statewide political races in the 2022 election cycle. Voters will cast ballots for secretary of state, attorney general, agriculture commissioner, two public service commissioners and tax commissioner.

There will be a new secretary of state. Current Secretary of State Al Jaeger plans on retiring when his term is up. Voters will decide between Jeffrey Powell, a Democrat, Michael Howe, a Republican, and Charles Tuttle, an independent.

Democrat Timothy Charles (Tim) Lamb will challenge Republican Drew Wrigley for the attorney general race. Wrigley was appointed by Gov. Doug Burgum to serve the remainder of the term ofthe attorney general position after the unexpected death of Wayne Stenehjem.

For the agriculture commissioner race, Fintan L Dooley, a Democrat, will challenge Republican incumbent Doug Goehring.


Republicans Julie Fedorchak and Sheri Haugen-Hoffart will look to hold onto their seats on the Public Service Commission against Democratic challengers Melanie Moniz and Trygve Hammer, respectively. Fedorchak’s seat is for a six-year term and Moniz’s seat is for an unexpired four-year term.

Republican Brian Kroshus is running unopposed for the tax commissioner seat.


One seat for a 10-year term on the North Dakota Supreme Court currently held by Daniel J Crothers will be decided in November. Crothers is running unopposed.

In Southeast District Court, voters will consider five seats for six-year terms currently held by Mark Blumer, James D Hovey, Daniel D Narum, Jay Schmitz and Troy LeFevre.

The only contested judgeship race is for Blumer’s seat; Blumer did not seek reelection. Paul C Murphy faces Nick D Thornton for the judge of the District Court No. 2 to replace Blumer.

Hovey, Narum, Schmitz and LeFevre are running unopposed for their judgeship positions.


Voters will decide on two statewide measures.

Measure No. 1 would add a new article to the North Dakota Constitution if it is approved by voters. If it is approved, an individual would not be allowed to serve a total of more than eight years in either the North Dakota House of Representatives or the state Senate, separately. It also prohibits an individual from being elected governor more than twice.

Measure No. 2 would create a new chapter of the North Dakota Century Code if it is approved by voters. If approved, the measure will legalize the production, processing and sale of marijuana and the possession and use of the various forms by an individual age 21 or older. It would also direct a state entity to regulate and register businesses that produce or dispense marijuana for use by individuals who are 21 and older.

Masaki Ova joined The Jamestown Sun in August 2021 as a reporter. He grew up on a farm near Pingree, N.D. He majored in communications at the University of Jamestown, N.D.
What To Read Next
No damage was reported.
A public meeting is scheduled.
Coverage prices are important but aren't everything, agent says.
Stories from the previous week that appeared on and in The Jamestown Sun.