Candidates for June 9 primary set

JSSP Government Events

Voters in Stutsman County will decide a number of contested races when they mail or drop off their ballots for the June 9 primary election.

Voting for the June 9 primary will be done by mail with applications for ballots sent out during the week of April 20 and the ballots mailed to those who respond beginning the week of April 30. Details on how the ballots can be returned and the deadline for voting are being developed, according to Nicole Meland, Stutsman County auditor and chief operating officer.


Four candidates are on the ballot seeking three positions on the Jamestown City Council. Steve Brubakken, a member of the City Council since 2012, is not seeking reelection. Incumbents Dan Buchanan and Pam Phillips are seeking another term. Buchanan has been on the City Council since 2012 and Phillips since 2016.

Challenging them are Brian Kamitz and David Schloegel.


Jamestown City Council members serve four-year terms.

The two incumbents are the only candidates for the two seats on Jamestown Parks and Recreation Commission. There are no challengers to Ron Olson and Mark Ukestad for the positions.

All Jamestown races are decided at the June 9 primary election.

Jamestown Public School Board

Four candidates are seeking three positions for Jamestown residents on the school board. Incumbents Diane Hanson and Roger Haut have filed for another term and are challenged by Jamie Bear and Gayle Nelson. Jennifer Schmidt is not seeking another term on the school board.

Two candidates are seeking one opening as a rural representative on the Jamestown Public School Board. Incumbent Steve Veldkamp is being challenged by Aaron Roberts for the position.

Members of the Jamestown Public School Board serve four-year terms. The positions are decided at the June primary election.

Stutsman County


There are two seats available on the Stutsman County Commission. Mark Klose, chairman of the Stutsman County Commission, has filed for reelection. Dave Schwartz is not seeking reelection.

Joan Morris and Jill Gainer have also filed petitions as candidates.

With two openings on the Stutsman County Commission, up to four candidates will advance to the Nov. 3 general election.

District 12 Legislature

Republicans have a contested primary on the ballot for the June primary election. One candidate for the North Dakota Senate and two candidates for the North Dakota House of Representatives will advance to the November general election.

Cole Conley and Willy Mickelson are on the ballot for the District 12 Senate nomination and Grant Christianson, Mitch Ostlie and Bernie Satrom are contesting for the House nominations.

Satrom is the incumbent. Jim Grueneich, who served one term, has moved out of the district and is not eligible to run in District 12.

Incumbent Sen. John Grabinger, D-Jamestown, is on the ballot for the Democrats in District 12. Democrats seeking to advance to the House of Representatives race on the November general election ballot are George Barnes and Pam Musland. All will advance to the November general election.



Judge Cherie Clark is the only candidate for Judgeship No. 1 in the Southeast District Court. She will advance to the November general election.

What To Read Next
Get Local