Connie Ova appointed to North Dakota Water Commission

A new director and four new members were appointed to the North Dakota Water Commission.

Andrea Travnicek
Andrea Travnicek

Gov. Doug Burgum named Andrea Travnicek to lead North Dakota's Department of Water Resources. Travnicek was previously the North Dakota Parks and Recreation director. Her appointment to head the Department of Water Resources will need to be ratified by the State Water Commission before becoming official.

Burgum also appointed four new members to the North Dakota Water Commission including Connie Ova, CEO of the Jamestown/Stutsman Economic Development Corp.; James Odermann, a Belfield rancher; April Walker, consulting firm owner and former Fargo city engineer, and Gene Veeder, a McKenzie County rancher.

As a result of House Bill 1353 passed during the 2021 legislative session, on Aug. 1 the Department of Water Resources will be the primary state water agency, replacing the State Water Commission.

The State Water Commission consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring and eight members appointed by the governor to six-year terms, with one member from each of the drainage basins in North Dakota.


Connie Ova

What To Read Next
Gate City Bank will also give $5,000 each to five other charities.
The death was ruled a homicide, court documents say.
The funds will be used to support the organization's Head Start projects.
A resolution looking to allow the legislature to consider work requirements on the newly expanded Medicaid program is one step closer to the 2024 ballot.