Weather Forecast


JHS speech team competes at events

Jamestown High School speech team traveled to St. Mary’s High School on Feb. 20, where they took home 17 awards, including three state qualifiers. They are:

Extemporaneous Programmed Reading – Ashlyn Weis, seventh

Extemporaneous Speaking – Jessica Schmitz, first/state qualifier, and Julia Shirley, fifth

Humorous Duo – Jayden Luck and Paris Eslick, eight; Ian Weis and Westin Walker, Superior Speaker, and Alivia Hoke and Madelyn Reinerts, Superior Speaker

Humorous Interpretation – Joseph Lauinger, Superior Speaker

Impromptu speaking – Ashlyn Schauer, first/ state qualifier; Cati Suckow, fourth, and Julia Shirley, Superior Speaker

Poetry – Ashlyn Weis, Superior Speaker, Dominique Scobee, ‘Top Novice’

Radio Broadcasting – Madelyn Reinerts. Superior Speaker

Serious Prose – Samara McDermid. fourth

Speech to Inform – Julia Shirley, fifth

Storytelling – Alivia Hoike, first/state qualifier, and Jordan Montgomery, second

On February 17, the team traveled to Mandan High School to compete, finishing with two state qualifiers and 20 awards. The results :

Dramatic Interpretation – Madelyn Reinerts, third, and Abigail Rang, eighth

E x t e m p o r a n e o u s Speaking – Cati Sukow, Superior Speaker

Humorous Duo – Madelyn Reinerts and Alivia Hoke, third, and Paris Eslick and Jayden Luck, sixth

Humorous Interpretation – Kaitlin Gerszewski, seventh, and Joseph Lauinger, eighth

Impromptu Speaking – Cati Sukow, first/ state qualifier, and Ashlyn Schauer, third

Poetry – Fowsiyo Mohamed, Top Novice

Radio Broadcasting – Ashlyn Schauer, third

Serious Duo – Samara McDermid and Joseph Lauinger, first/state qualifier

Serious Prose – Samara McDermid, Grace Fortier and Anja McDermid, all Superior Speaker

Speech to Entertain – Caden Eslick, fourth, and Keelie Renwick, sixth

Speech to Persuade – Jordan Montgomery, fourth

Storytelling – Jordan Montgomery, fifth, and Alivia Hoke, sixth

The team will compete in Valley City on March 10, Bismarck on March 17 and Fargo Davies on March 24.