Weather Forecast


New Rockford teacher among award finalists


State School Superintendent Kirsten Baesler announced that three North Dakota teachers including Annette Hovey of New Rockford have been named as finalists for the 2019 North Dakota Teacher of the Year award.

Baesler visited the teachers’ schools Friday to take part in ceremonies to honor them. Kayla Delzer is a third-grade teacher at Mapleton Elementary, in rural Cass County, Hovey teaches music at New Rockford-Sheyenne High School in New Rockford, and Leslye Thiery teaches fifth grade at Discovery Elementary in Grand Forks.

Baesler will announce the final finalist at Minot on Wednesday. The winner will be named before the end of the month.

Hovey has taught music, including band, choir, jazz band, singing, and music appreciation, at New Rockford-Sheyenne High School since 2013. Her band and choir students have received 11 Outstanding Performance Awards at state solo and ensemble contests in the past five years. Hovey also directs two Dakota Spark Youth Theatre camps during the summer.

Teachers from each of North Dakota’s counties and school districts were asked to apply for Teacher of the Year consideration. Applications were evaluated and scored, and finalists were interviewed by a panel made up of representatives of teachers, administrators, school board members, nonpublic schools, the Department of Public Instruction and the 2018 Teacher of the Year, Leah Juelke of Fargo South High School.