Weather Forecast


Few changes in North Dakota committee chairmanships

North Dakota Capitol in Bismarck. Forum News Service file photo

BISMARCK — Few changes were made to committee chairmanships for the upcoming North Dakota legislative session, according to rosters provided to reporters Wednesday, Dec. 5.

Overall, there were only six changes made to the Republican leadership of the 25 standing committees between the two chambers. Most were due to retirements, electoral defeats or leadership appointments.

Majority leaders in both chambers are responsible for selecting committee chairmen and vice chairmen. Both chairmen of the House and Senate appropriations committees retained their posts.

Rugby Rep. Jon Nelson replaced Rep. Chet Pollert, of Carrington, as chairman of a division of the chamber's budget-writing committee. Pollert was elected House majority leader last month.

Similarly, Bismarck Rep. Jason Dockter will chair the House Political Subdivisions Committee because fellow Bismarck Rep. Lawrence Klemin was named House speaker this week.

Fargo Sen. Kyle Davison will chair the Government and Veterans Affairs Committee because Sen. Nicole Poolman, of Bismarck, became a member of the chamber's powerful budget-writing committee. Bismarck Sen. Diane Larson will chair the Judiciary Committee because Kelly Armstrong was elected to Congress.

Lawmakers will start the next legislative session Jan. 3.

John Hageman

John Hageman covers North Dakota politics from the Forum News Service bureau in Bismarck. He attended the University of Minnesota in the Twin Cities, where he studied journalism and political science, and he previously worked at the Grand Forks Herald and Bemidji Pioneer.  

(701) 255-5607