The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development has awarded five North Dakota Housing Authorities Mainstream Vouchers to assist households that include disabled members.

The agencies include the Fargo Housing Authority, Burleigh County Housing Authority, Minot Housing Authority, Grand Forks Housing Authority and Great Plains Housing Authority headquartered in Jamestown.

The program will provide housing assistance to clients who are disabled but not elderly and are either transitioning out of institutionalized settings or at serious risk of institutionalization, homeless or at risk of becoming homeless.

Great Plains Housing Authority will receive 61 vouchers.

“Mainstream Vouchers and our partnerships with Human Services and other providers have helped house the most vulnerable, while opening other voucher funding to assist other households,” said David Klein, Great Plains Housing Authority executive director. “Legislative changes to Medicaid behavioral health coverage and mainstream vouchers will make an enormous impact on lives and our communities."