Here's a summary of Jamestown/Stutsman County races

The primary election was on June 14.

voting voter turnout 061422.jpg
Stutsman County residents vote on Tuesday, June 14, at the Jamestown Civic Center.
John M. Steiner / The Jamestown Sun
We are part of The Trust Project.

Stutsman County voters went to the polls on Tuesday, June 14, in the state’s primary election. Several races were decided Tuesday, including the reelection of a Jamestown City Council member and incumbents on the Jamestown Public School Board.

The Stutsman County Canvassing Board is expected to certify the election results at 10 a.m. Monday, June 27.

Here’s a summary of local races.

Jamestown races

David Steele was reelected to a second term on the Jamestown City Council, defeating Josh Meade, who was seeking his first term. Steele received 838 votes in the unofficial tally available Tuesday night. Meade received 258 votes.

Mayor Dwaine Heinrich was reelected after running unopposed, receiving 857 votes. He was elected to the mayoral seat in 2018.


Mindi Schmitz, Mike Landscoot and Mike Soulis were reelected to serve a four-year term on the Jamestown Parks and Recreation Commission. Schmitz received the most votes with 871 in the unofficial tally. Soulis placed second with 865 votes, and Landscoot received 837.

Lawrence K. Kropp was also reelected as the Jamestown Municipal Court judge, receiving 879 votes.

Jamestown Public School Board

Incumbents Heidi Heim Larson and Jason Rohr were reelected to the city seats on the Jamestown Public School Board Tuesday, June 14, while Daniel Tweten was elected to serve his first four-year term.

For the two rural seats on the school board, incumbent Melissa Gleason was elected to her first term, receiving 1,085 votes in the unofficial tally Tuesday night. Steve Veldkamp received the most write-in votes with 29 and was followed by Mark Sherfy with 16, Rebecca Nyberg with 13, Greg Allen with four and Bob Toso with two in the unofficial tally Tuesday night, June 14. Thirty-five people also received one write-in vote.

Veldkamp said he plans to accept the position on the school board. He served on the Jamestown Public School Board from 2016 to 2020.

For the city seats, Rohr received the most votes with 1,006 in the unofficial tally. Larson placed second with 968, followed by Tweten with 828 and Stephen R. Resler with 483.

Stutsman County races

For the race for Stutsman County Commission, a total of six candidates will advance to the Nov. 8 election, including Cichos and Wolsky. The top six write-in candidates were Jerry Bergquist, Nellie Degen, Robin Iszler, David Schwartz, Tom Tracy and Elizabeth Kapp. See page A1 for more on the commission races.

In other races, running unopposed Tuesday and advancing to the November election ballot are Stutsman County Sheriff Chad Kaiser, Stutsman County State’s Attorney Fritz Fremgen and Geneva Kaiser, director of the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District.


In unofficial results, Chad Kaiser received 1,457 votes, Fremgen 1,290 and Geneva Kaiser 1,279.

District 29

The primary election decided which District 29 candidates would advance to the general election in November.

Sen. Terry Wanzek, R-Jamestown, received 372 votes. Wanzek will face Democratic challenger Ben Vig, who received 80 votes.

Reps. Craig Headland, R-Montpelier, and Don Vigessa, R-Cooperstown, will go up against Democratic challenger Charles Linderman. Headland received 328 votes, Vigessa had 285 and Linderman trailed with 79.

Judgeship races

In the Southeast Judicial District races, in the contested race for District Court No. 2 judgeship based in Valley City, Paul C. Murphy led with 4,226 votes, followed by Nick D. Thornton with 3,588 votes and Leah J. Viste with 3,461 votes. Murphy and Thornton will advance to the November election.

Running unopposed in District Court No. 4, 5, 6 and 7, respectively, were James D. Hovey, Daniel Narum, Jay Schmitz and Troy J. LeFevre. They advance to the fall election.

Hovey received 11,631 votes, Narum 11,932, Schmitz 11,671, and LeFevre, 11,477.

The judgeships are six-year terms.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Briggs is a 1-year-old German Shepherd from Slovakia and is handled by police officer Cory Beckman. The two began a 12-week training course Aug. 8 in Buffalo, Minnesota.
The gas station, which opened in 1934, was the last in the United States that used hand, known as gravity, pumps. It was a Standard Oil Station from 1934 to 1959, then was privately owned after the main route to Watertown, South Dakota, was changed and the car and truck traffic dwindled.
Early voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Oct. 30-Nov. 4, at the Stutsman County Courthouse
Rep. Kelly Armstrong, R-N.D., talked about inflation, workforce issues and letting states control regulations on energy and agriculture.