North Dakota names teacher of the year finalists

Jessica Brandt, Karyn Chiapella, Susan Lillian McPherson, Sara Medalen and Sara Thompson
We are part of The Trust Project.

BISMARCK — Five educators in North Dakota are finalists for the state's 2020 Teacher of the Year award, the state superintendent announced Friday, Sept. 13.

The finalists are:

  • Jessica Brandt, Title 1 English and reading teacher at Central Cass Public School in Casselton.
  • Karyn Chiapella, special education teacher and intervention specialist in the Scranton public school.
  • Susan Lillian McPherson, English Language teacher at Northern Cass Public School in Hunter.

  • Sara Medalen, reading and math interventionist at Minot’s Sunnyside Elementary School.

  • Sara Thompson, reading specialist and instructional coach at Sweetwater Elementary School in Devils Lake.

Superintendent Kirsten Baesler will be visiting the teachers' schools in the next two weeks to honor each finalist and celebrate them with their school and community, a news release said.
The winner will be announced Sept. 30.

What to read next
The Environmental Protection Agency recently allowed canola oil to be used as a feedstock for renewable diesel under the Renewable Fuel Standard.
The 12 plaintiffs suffered injuries including bruising from less-lethal munitions, lingering respiratory issues from tear gas and psychological trauma, the ACLU said.
Motorists should take alternate routes if possible.
Local state legislators toured the James Valley Career and Technology Center on Tuesday, Nov. 29, and listened to concerns on how the holdup of federal funds is delaying a planned project of the Career and Technology Center that targets workforce needs.