Rohr, Larson, Tweten, Gleason elected to school board

The primary election was held Tuesday, June 14.

voting voter n ballot 061422.jpg
A woman carries her ballot to the counting machine after casting her votes.
John M. Steiner / The Jamestown Sun
We are part of The Trust Project.

JAMESTOWN – Incumbents Heidi Heim Larson and Jason Rohr were reelected to the city seats on the Jamestown Public School Board Tuesday, June 14, while Daniel Tweten was elected to serve his first four-year term.

For the two rural seats on the school board, incumbent Melissa Gleason was elected to her first term, receiving 1,085 votes in the unofficial tally Tuesday night. There were 106 write-in votes, but the results will not be known until Wednesday, June 15, according to Jessica Alonge, Stutsman County auditor/chief operating officer.

Larson has served on the school board since 2009. She said in an email Tuesday after the election that serving on the school board has been a rewarding experience.

Heidi Heim Larson
Heidi Heim Larson
Contributed / Heidi Heim Larson

“I appreciate the continued confidence and support of the constituents,” she said. “ … We have a great staff, board and district and I look forward to the next four years.”

Rohr was first elected to the school board in 2018. Tweten was appointed in 2021 to serve the remainder of Bob Toso’s term after he resigned.


Tweten said his tenure on the school board has been very rewarding and he is excited to continue working with the “great team” at the Jamestown Public School District.

dan tweten school board 051122.jpg
Dan Tweten, school board candidate 051122
John M. Steiner / The Jamestown Sun

Rohr said he appreciates everyone who supports him and the trust his constituents have in him serving on the school board.

“I know that there are going to be some pretty hefty challenges facing public education over the next four or five years,” he said. “(I will be) tackling them with the other board members to do what is best for the kids of Jamestown.”

For the city seats, Rohr received the most votes with 1,006 in the unofficial tally. Larson placed second with 968, followed by Tweten with 828 and Stephen R. Resler with 483.

Jason Rohr 22.jpg
Jason Rohr
Contributed / Jason Rohr

Gleason was first appointed to the school board in 2005, serving until 2006. She was then appointed to the school board in 2018.

All results are unofficial until the Stutsman County Canvassing Board meets at 10 a.m. Monday, June 27.

This story was updated with comments from Jason Rohr and Daniel Tweten.

Masaki Ova joined The Jamestown Sun in August 2021 as a reporter. He grew up on a farm near Pingree, N.D. He majored in communications at the University of Jamestown, N.D.
What To Read Next
No damage was reported.
A public meeting is scheduled.
Coverage prices are important but aren't everything, agent says.
Stories from the previous week that appeared on and in The Jamestown Sun.