Weather Forecast


NUMBER ONE: Blue Jay boys ranked first in Class A poll

Cichos, Gumke, Ova elected to County Commission

Incumbent Stutsman County Commissioner Dennis Ova, left, won reelection followed by incoming commissioners Steven Cichos and Ramone Gumke, and Craig Neys who lost his seat in a race that might trigger an automatic recount.

The Stutsman County Commission will have two new members, according to unofficial election results Tuesday.

Incumbent commissioner Dennis Ova led all votes with 4,582, followed by former commissioner Steven Cichos with 4,581, and Ramone Gumke, a former Jamestown City Council member, with 3,993. Incumbent Craig Neys garnered 3,857 votes, followed by Mark McPherson with 3,972 votes and Nellie Degen with 1,979.

“I am glad to be among the commissioners that the residents of Stutsman County elected and I thank everyone for their support and help along the way,” said Gumke, 38, an operations manager of Newman Print at Newman Signs.

The other commissioners possess a lot of knowledge and experience and he’s excited to start work after Jan. 1.

“The bottom line is that I am extremely pleased with the results,” said Cichos, a consultant who is retired from banking and a former county commissioner. “It’s time to go to work to keep our county financially strong and try to grow that tax base and continue to provide the necessary services that our county residents have come to expect.”

Commissioner Dale Marks did not seek re-election.

If the unofficial results hold up there will be a recount as there is less than 0.5 percent difference between the third and fourth place candidate votes, according to Nicole Meland, Stutsman County auditor and chief operating officer. The official results will be determined at the canvasing meeting at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 13, she said.