Jamestown High School gymnastics won every event Friday at American Gold Gymnastics in Fargo, but fell two points shy of Grand Forks for first place.

Grand Forks scored 138.450 to Jamestown's 136.650 for top team honors. The Blue Jays' Haley Nelson won the all-around, beam and vault, and Rachel Schiele produced the best floor and bars routines.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

"I figured those two girls were sitting pretty good," said Jamestown coach Dave Tewes. "Each time out we'll get better and those two once again carried us again."

The Blue Jays' Emma Hillerud placed sixth in the all-around with a score of 32.12, and Courtney Mack placed sixth on vault with an 8.4.

Jamestown will turn around and host Grand Forks on Friday, Dec. 21 at Jamestown Gymnastics Club.

"We closed the gap on Grand Forks," Tewes said. "I didn't see if they had any struggles tonight. They were five points ahead of us in Dickinson and two today. It would be nice to stay close to them because they've been building over the last few years."

Fargo Invitational

Team Results

1. Grand Forks 138.450; 2. Jamestown 136.650; 3. Fargo South 121.650; 4. Fargo Davies 121.075; 5. Mandan 119.475.

Winners and Blue Jay results

All-around: 1. Haley Nelson 36.40; 2. Rachel Schiele 35.92; 6. Emma Hillerud 32.12.

Floor: 1. Schiele 9.3; 3. Nelson 8.95.

Beam: 1. Nelson 9.45; 2. Schiele 8.93.

Bars: 1. Schiele 9.05; 2. Nelson 8.95.

Vault: 1. Nelson 9.05; 3. Schiele 8.65; 6. Courtney Mack 8.4.

Braves edge Jays on mat

Turtle Mountain won a narrow duel Friday night in Belcourt as it escaped with a 39-36 victory. The Blue Jays received pins from Joel Bowman, Talor Huebner, Ethan Bowman and Johnny Browning. Next up for the Jays is a dual against Dickinson at Jerry Meyer Arena on December 21.

Turtle Mountain 39, Jamestown 36

106: Aden Braun J, won by forfeit.

113: Joel Bowman J, pinned Craig Bercier, 0:45.

120: Talor Huebner J, pinned Josiah Marcellais, 2:51.

126: Wyatt Goulet T, dec. over Dusty Harr, 10-3.

132: Ethan Bowman J, pinned Keon Laducer, 3:00.

138: Tate Laducer T, won by forfeit.

145: Clay LaRocque T, dec. over Braden Hatcher.

152: Noah Braun J, won by forfeit.

160: Johnny Browning J, pinned Terrance Champagne, 1:14.

170: Nolen Demery T, dec. over Austin Kessler 10-4.

182: Levi LaFountain T, dec. over Coty Huebner, 8-4.

195: Louis DeCoteau T, pinned Aaron Mack, 4:46.

220: Hunter Harviell T, pinned Dareeyn Davis, 2:51.

285: Seth Baker T, won by forfeit.