H.S. football preseason polls

Langdon/Munich/Edmore and New Rockford-Sheyenne earned the top spots in the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association high school football preseason media polls released Wednesday.

The Class A and 9-man seasons get underway Friday, Aug. 23. In area action, Ellendale/Edgeley/Kulm travels to Carrington to face the Cardinals at 7 p.m., while LaMoure-Litchville/Marion hosts Maple Valley/Enderlin at 7 p.m.

NDAPSSA H.S. Football Preseason Polls


WDAY logo
listen live
watch live


1. Langdon-Munich-Edmore (10) 54

2. Oakes 27

3. Thompson (2) 25

4. Velva 18

5. Bishop Ryan 16

5. Bowman County 16

Others Receiving Votes: Dickinson Trinity, Carrington, New Salem , Shiloh Christian


Team PTS

1. New Rockford Sheyenne (6) 43

2. Napoleon GS (3) 41

3. Ray Powers Lake (2) 38

4. Richland (1) 31

5. Cavalier 14

Others Receiving Votes: St. John, Mayport CG, Mohall Lansford Sherwood.

H.S. cross country preseason polls

The North Dakota High School cross country poll was released on Wednesday, Aug. 21. Jamestown's Meghan Ford is ranked as Class A's top female runner and junior Gavin Haut claimed spot No. 10 in the poll. The Jamestown girls team did not rank among Class A's predicted top five teams but the boys team managed to clinch the No. 5 spot in the preseason poll. Jamestown will host the team's first meet Saturday, Aug. 24 at Parkhurst recreational area. Races are scheduled to begin at 11 a.m.

Class A Girls Individuals

1. Meghan Ford (Jamestown)

2. Hayley Ogle (Watford City)

3. Erin Palmer (Bismarck Century)

4. Kelby Rinas (Mandan)

5. Mikayla Wiess (Grand Forks Central)

6. Eleni Lovgren (Williston)

7. Hope Pringle (West Fargo)

8. Jaelyn Ogle (Watford City)

9. Emily Goldade (Century)

10. Anna Bernhardt (Shanley/Oak Grove)

Class A Girls Team: 1, Minot. 2, Fargo Davies. 3, Grand Forks Central. 4, Bismarck Century. 5, West Fargo.

Class A Boys Individuals

1. Sean Korsmo (Bismarck High School)

2. Brady Yoder (Dickinson)

3. Micade Shumway (Williston)

4. Austin Wald (Bismarck Century)

5. Jacob Knodle (West Fargo Sheyenne)

6. Gunner Alvarado (Williston)

7. Caleb Yokum (Fargo North)

8. Fynn Krenz (Williston)

9. Aiden Jung (Dickinson)

10. Gavin Haut (Jamestown)

Class A Boys Team: 1, Williston. 2, Bismarck Century. 3, Bismarck Legacy. 4, Bismarck High. 5, Jamestown.

Basketball boosters annual meeting

Jamestown Basketball Boosters will hold their annual meeting on Thursday, Aug. 29 at 6 p.m. at the Jamestown Knights of Columbus. This meeting is open for those having questions or interest in youth traveling basketball.