University of Jamestown men's basketball seniors Jon Purintun and Kevin Oberweiser were awarded first-team Great Plains Athletic Conference honors Wednesday, Feb. 27, one day after leading the Jimmies to the GPAC conference tournament championship over Morningside in Sioux City, Iowa.

Purintun's per-game averages of 19.6 points and 3.5 assists leads the 28-5 Jimmies, who will begin NAIA Division II national tournament play for the first time since 2013 on March 6 in Sioux Falls, S.D. The Jimmies will find out who they play today at 5 p.m. A watch party-open to the public-is planned at Harold Newman Arena.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Purintun broke UJ's single-game scoring record this season (45 points) and ranks ninth on the Jimmies' all-time scoring list with 1,504 points.

Oberweiser, second on the team in scoring (19.1 ppg) and first on the team with a single-season school record 116 3-pointers, joined Purintun this winter in scoring more than 600 points. The duo is part of seven UJ players to have cleared 600 in a season, while Oberweiser has tallied 1,091 points and counting in just two seasons in a Jimmie uniform.

The Jimmies' Terrell Alfred and Jack Talley earned GPAC all-conference honorable mention recognition Wednesday.

Alfred, a junior first-year transfer, has converted 82 3-pointers and is averaging 11.4 points off the bench. Tally, with five double-doubles this season, has averaged 9.3 points and 6.2 rebounds per contest.

Josephson, Doyle earn GPAC awards

University of Jamestown women's basketball freshman Noelle Josephson was selected GPAC Freshman of the Year and all-GPAC honorable mention Wednesday. Josephson posted per-game averages of 7.2 points and 4.2 rebounds for the 14-16 Jimmies, and her 127 rebounds and 52 steals led the team.

Doyle, a 6-foot-3 senior and UJ's all-time blocks leader (192), also earned all-conference honorable mention nods. Doyle posted 38 blocks and averaged 6.3 points her senior season.

2018-19 GPAC Basketball Awards


All-conference first team: Jon Purintun, 6-2, Sr., G, Jamestown; Kevin Oberweiser, 6-2, Sr., G, Jamestown; Tyler Borchers, 6-7, Jr., C, Morningside; Zach Imig, 6-3, Soph., G, Morningside; Nick Harden, 5-11, Soph., G, Dakota Wesleyan; Trent Hilbrands, 6-0, Soph., G, Northwestern; Bart Hiscock, 6-6, Jr. C, Hastings; Ty Hoglund, 6-3, Jr., G, Dakota Wesleyan; Jackson Lamb, 6-4, Jr. G, Briar Cliff; Jay Wolfe, 6-4, Sr., G, Briar Cliff.

All-conference second team: Alex Borchers, 5-10, Jr., PG, Morningside; Brody Egger, 6-2, Sr., G, Morningside; Garrett Franken, 6-7, Soph., F, Dordt; Ethan Freidel, 6-0, Soph., G, Briar Cliff; Matt Hahn, 6-3, Jr., G, Morningside; Nick Kornieck, 6-7, Soph., G, Doane; Kevin Miller, 6-1, Sr., G, Hastings; Parker Mulder, 6-2, Sr., G, Northwestern; Bryce Parson, 6-1, Jr., G, Midland; Brevin Sloup, 5-9, Jr., G, Concordia.

Player of the Year: Jay Wolfe, Briar Cliff.

Defensive Player of the Year: Tyler Borchers, Morningside.

Freshman of the Year: Carter Kent, Concordia.

Coach of the Year: Jim Sykes, Morningside.

Honorable mention

Jamestown: Terrell Alfred, Jack Talley. Briar Cliff: Kyle Boerhave, Jaden Kleinhesselink. Concordia: Tanner Shuck, Carter Kent. Dakota Wesleyan: Aaron Ahmadu. Doane: Trace Tupper, Koh Flippin, Anthony Laravie. Dordt: Chad Barkema, Alec Henrickson, Zach Bussard. Hastings: Shane Chamberlain. Midland: Bowen Sandquist. Morningside: Trey Brown. Mount Marty: Colby Johnson, Jailen Billings. Northwestern: Jay Small, Craig Sterk.


All-conference first team: Sarah Carr, 6-0, Jr., F, Dakota Wesleyan; Kynedi Cheeseman, 5-10, Jr., G, Dakota Wesleyan; Taylor Cockerill, 5-9, Soph., G, Concordia; Kassidy De Jong, 5-10, Sr. F, Northwestern; Maddie Egr, 6-0, Sr., C, Midland; Shandra Farmer, 5-3, Jr., G, Hastings; Erika Feenstra, 6-0, Soph., F, Dordt; Darbi Gustafson, 6-0, Sr., C, Northwestern; Philly Lammers, 6-0, Jr., C, Concordia; Sierra Mitchell, 5-6, Soph., G, Morningside.

All-conference second team: Grace Berry, 5-6, Jr., G, Concordia; Haley Birks, 6-0, Sr., F, Northwestern; Rachel Evavold, 6-0, Jr., F, Dordt; Haylee Heits, 6-0, Soph., F, Doane; Sydney Hupp, 6-0, Jr., F, Morningside; Rylie Osthus, 5-9, Sr., G, Dakota Wesleyan; Annie Rhinesmith, 5-8, Jr., G, Dordt; Taylor Wagner, 5-9, Sr., G, Briar Cliff; Mackenzie Willicott, 5-9, Jr., F, Hastings; Quinn Wragge, 6-0, Sr., F, Concordia.

Player of the Year: Philly Lammers, Concordia.

Defensive Player of the Year: Rylie Osthus, Dakota Wesleyan.

Freshman of the Year: Noelle Josephson, Jamestown.

Coach of the Year: Bill Harmsen, Dordt.

Honorable mention

Jamestown: Noelle Josephson, Jenna Doyle. Briar Cliff: Alyssa Carley. College of Saint Mary: Corryne Millett, Ashley Nelson. Concordia: Mackenzie Koepke, Riley Sibbel. Doane: Emma Areman. Dordt: Kenzie Bousema. Hastings: Gabby Grasso, Taylor Beacom. Midland: Amanda Hansen. Mount Marty: Sammy Kasowski, Karlee McKinney, Ali Kuca. Northwestern: Sammy Blum, Anna Kiel.