Blue Jays named all-conference in football

jhs football jacob td run.jpg
Jamestown's Jacob Hilgemann (13) slips past the Minot defense on his way to a first-quarter touchdown at Ernie Gates Field on Oct. 4, 2019. Looking on in the back field is Blue Jay Thomas Allmer (50). John M. Steiner / The Sun

Jamestown High School’s Jacob Hilgemann, Tommy Falk, Matt Anderson, Lawson Frey and Keith Levin earned All-Western Dakota Association football accolades in 2019.

The West’s all-conference football awards were announced on Monday with 46 players earning all-WDA honors. Bismarck Century’s Cade Feeney and coach Ron Wingenbach were named the conference’s senior athlete and coach of the year, respectively.

Hilgemann, a junior receiver, was named to the all-offensive team, leading the conference with 43 receptions for 825 yards and nine receiving touchdowns. Falk, a senior quarterback, was also selected all-offense, leading the West with 1,762 passing yards and 12 passing touchdowns, while rushing for 96 yards and five more scores.

jhs football falk with protection.jpg
Jamestown's Tommy Falk (4) gets some time in the back field to toss the ball against a Minot defense Friday at Ernie Gates Field. John M. Steiner / The Sun


Hilgemann also rushed for a touchdown and led the Blue Jays with three interceptions for 91 yards and a score as a defensive back. The Blue Jays finished the Class AAA football season at 2-7 with victories over Fargo North and Dickinson.

Anderson, a junior lineman, was named to the all-defensive team, totaling 21 tackles -- three for lost yards -- a sack and a forced fumble.

Frey, a senior linebacker, and Levin, a junior tight end/lineman, were named all-conference honorable mention. Frey posted 23 tackles, a sack and a fumble recovery in 2019, while Levin produced 49 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, a sack and a fumble recovery.

All-WDA Offense

Jamestown – Tommy Falk, Sr., QB; Jacob Hilgemann, Jr., WR.

Bismarck High: Isaiah Huus, So., RB; Brady Bauman, Jr., OL; Caleb Dockter, Jr., OL; Nick Hinsz, Sr., WR; Jack Steckler, Jr., WR.

Bismarck Century: Cade Feeney, Sr., QB; Cade Garcia, Jr., RB; Grant Anderson, Sr., RB; Lucas Schweigert, So., OL; Andrew Leingang, Jr., OL; Konnor Stordalen, Sr., OL; Skyler Reidinger, Sr., WR.

Bismarck Legacy: Rhett Clements, Sr., QB; Ben Marowf, Sr., RB; Lyric Hoffman, Jr., RB; Josh Haag, Sr., OL; Keagen Woodbury, Jr., WR.


Dickinson: Troy Berg, So., RB; Peyton Hanson, Sr., OL; Jaiden Wright, Sr., WR.

Mandan: Dane Carlson, Sr., QB; Austin Frey, Sr., RB; Jaxon Duttenhefer, Jr., OL; Elijah Klein, Sr., WR; Kobe Poitra, Sr., TE.

Minot High: Jaxon Gunville, Sr., QB; Payton Philion, Sr., RB; Preston Olson; Sr., OL; Dylan Vigestad, Sr., OL.

All-WDA Defense

Jamestown: Matt Anderson, Jr., DL.

Bismarck High: Jack Steckler, Jr., DL; Tyce Halter, Sr., DL; Thomas Colby, Sr., LB; Jared Hager, Sr., LB; Nick Hinsz, DB.

Bismarck Century: Lucas Schweigert, So., DL; Andrew Leingang, Jr., DL; Konnor Stordalen, Sr., DL; Damon Dixon, Sr., LB; Cade Feeney, Sr., DB; Cody Sorenson, Sr., DB; Skyler Reidinger, Sr., DB.

Bismarck Legacy: Josh Haag, Sr., DL; Lyric Hoffman, Jr., LB; Ben Marowf, Sr., LB; Rhett Clements, Sr., DB; Keagen Woodbury, Jr., DB.


Dickinson: Peyton Hanson, Sr., DL; Troy Berg, So., LB; Jaiden Wright, Sr., DB.

Mandan: Jaxon Duttenhefer, Jr., DL; Kobe Poitra, Sr., DL; James Barnhardt, Jr., LB; Austin Frey, Sr., DB; Will Kleinknecht, Sr., DB.

Minot High: Preston Olson; Sr., DL; Dylan Vigestad, Sr., DL; Derry Lentz, Sr., LB; Johnny Butz, Sr., DB.

Williston: Connor Murphy, Sr., DL; Denver Sheets, Sr., LB; Caleb Doeden, Sr., LB.

All-WDA Special Teams

Bismarck Century: Cade Feeney, Sr., P.

Bismarck High: Mason Stotz, Sr., PK.

Bismarck Legacy: T.J. Seidel, Jr., PL.

Mandan: Austin Frey, Sr., Ret.

All-WDA Honorable Mention

Jamestown: Lawson Frey, Sr.; Keith Levin, Jr.; Bismarck High: Kade Rohlfs, Sr.; Jeb Herschlip, Sr.; Bismarck Century: Griffin Jensen, Sr.; Jace Anderson, Sr.; Bismarck Legacy: Nick Kupfer, Jr.; Max Barrett; Jr.; Dickinson: Alex Praus, Sr.; Luke Mavity, So.; Mandan: Aaron Riopelle, Sr.; Danek Vega, Sr.; Minot High: Asher Woods, Jr.; Chase Burke, Jr.; Williston: Rowdy Zealley, Sr.; Camdin Miller, Sr.

Special Senior Recognition: Caleb Doeden, Williston; Austin Frey, Mandan; Thomas Colby, Bismarck High; Cade Feeney, Bismarck Century; Rhett Clements, Bismarck Legacy; Peyton Hanson, Dickinson; Tommy Falk, Jamestown.

West Region Senior Athlete of Year: Cade Feeney, Bismarck Century.

West Region Coach of the Year: Ron Wingenbach, Bismarck Century.

What To Read Next
Due to inclement weather, Jamestown High School basketball and hockey games scheduled for Jan. 26 have been postponed.
A few extra photo frames from sporting events in recent weeks.
There was a total of $5,230 in cash prizes given out.
The Blue Jays faced Minot on Saturday afternoon.