SUBSCRIBE NOW AND SAVE 3 months just 99 ¢/month



Blue Jays place seven on the Class 11A all state teams

The Blue Jays had five players selected to the first team.

As the high school football season has come to an end, the all state teams are being announced by the North Dakota High School Coaches Association. After winning their first outright state championship since 1937, the Jamestown High School Blue Jays led all teams in Class 11A with seven selections.

The Blue Jays had two players selected to the first-team offense, three to the first-team defense and two players selected to the second team.

The two first-team selections were wide receiver Preston Kroeber and offensive lineman Thomas Allmer. The first-team all defense selections were defensive lineman Devin Beach, linebacker Colton Mewes and defensive back Adam Kallenbach. The second-team selections were tight end Jackson Walters and offensive lineman Ethan Gall.

This season, Kroeber played in all of the Blue Jays 12 games, recording 35 receptions for 431 yards and eight touchdowns.

Allmer played a key role in a Blue Jays offense that put up 3,793 yards, with 1,781 of those yards coming on the ground.


Beach played a key role on both sides of the ball for the Jays this season, but defensively he had 44.5 tackles and three sacks.

The junior, Mewes played in 11 of the team’s 12 games, compiling a stat line of 81.5 tackles, six sacks and one interception.

Kallenbach was another Blue Jay who made a big impact as a two-way player. On the defensive side of the ball the senior had 41.5 tackles and nine picks.

Much like his teammates, Walters played both sides of the line compiling a stat line of one reception for 10 yards on offense, 48 completions on 97 attempts for 669 yards passing, eight touchdowns and eight interceptions. Defensively Walters had 62.5 tackles, one sack, one fumble recovery and 1.5 tackles for loss.

Gall was part of an offensive line this season that was one of the best in the state.

The coaches also named the senior athletes of the year as Wahpeton’s Blake Schaefer and Bismarck St. Mary’s Brit Senftner. The coach of the year was awarded to Fargo North’s Adam Roland.

This season, Schaefer was the quarterback for the Warriors and led them to a 5-5 record. Schaefer went 205-for-318 for 2,753 yards with 32 touchdowns through the air and eight interceptions. Schaefer was also a weapon on the ground as he had 114 carries for 383 yards and seven touchdowns. He also added three tackles on defense.

Seftner helped lead the Saints on both sides of the ball. On the offensive side of the ball, he played as a wide receiver where he made 31 receptions for 536 yards and five touchdowns. Defensively the senior was in the top two in most statistical categories with 75 total tackles, 13 tackles for loss, a team leading 12 pass breakups and one interception.


After a 2-5 season in 2020-21, the Fargo North High School Spartans responded in a big way, going 7-4, and making their first appearance in the Class A semifinals since 2000. It was also the most wins that the program has had since the Spartans went 7-3 in the 2002 season.

The full Class 11A teams are below:

First team offense:

QB -- Blake Schafer, Wahpeton; Nick Schumacher, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Daniel Boutain, Fargo North; RB -- Isaac Felchle, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Mason Lockwood, Fargo North; WR -- Nate Fedorchak, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Caden Kappes, Wahpeton; Preston Kroeber, Jamestown; OL -- Jack Weikum, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Alex Wegner, Fargo North; Thomas Allmer, Jamestown; Dayton Allery, Turtle Mountain; Tyler Christianson, Fargo South

First team defense:

DL -- Nick Windsor, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Jacob Johnson, Fargo North; Devin Beach, Jamestown; LB -- Luke Mavity, Dickinson; Zack Thomasson, Fargo South; Paine Parks, GF Red River; Colton Mewes, Jamestown; DB -- Troy Berg, Dickinson; Adam Kallenbach, Jamestown; Gavin Gerhardt, Valley City; Brit Senftner, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Beau Arenstein, Wahpeton

Second team:

Sam Stillings, Dickinson; Bennett Carlson, Dickinson; Landon Gerving, Bismarck St. Mary’s; Jackson Walters, Jamestown; Ethan Gall, Jamestown; Jason Hogue, Watford City; Sam Strandell, GF Central; Drew Hofstad, Devils Lake; Ben Heilman, Devils Lake; Kolby Jones, Fargo South; Peder Haugo, Fargo North; Nathaniel Fritel, Fargo North; Garrin Sattler, GF Red River; Broden Muske, Valley City


Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year -- Blake Schaefer, Wahpeton and Brit Senftner, Bismarck St. Mary’s

Coach of the Year -- Adam Roland, Fargo North

What to read next
The Jamestown High School boys hockey team took on Dickinson on Jan. 27.
The Jamestown High School boys basketball team was in action on Jan. 27.
The Thunder were led by 18 points from Josh Moser.
The Jamestown High School girls wrestling team is in its first year of competition this season.