FARGO — Cavalier rallied for a lead, but couldn’t hold on for a win here Friday in the North Dakota 9-man high school football championship game.

Kidder County downed the Tornadoes 54-32.

The Wolves jumped to a 22-0 lead. But Cavalier rallied to take a 32-30 lead with 9:18 remaining when Colton Ratchenski connected with Tanner Urlaub for a 59-yard touchdown pass and Isaiah LeTexier had a 2-point conversion catch.

The lead lasted for less than a minute, however. Payton Cauthon got behind the Cavalier secondary and went 73 yards on a Jonah Harter pass for the go-ahead score. That was the first of three unanswered Wolves touchdowns to close the game.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Jonah Harter finished 6-of-9 passing for 168 yards and two touchdowns for Kidder County. Ratchenski was 16-of-27 for 247 yards and two TDs for the Tornadoes.

N.D. Dakota Bowl

In Fargo, Friday

9-man championship:

Kidder County 54,

Cavalier 32

First quarter

KC -- Parker Hager 31 run (Jonah Harter run)

KC -- Hager 60 pass from J. Harter (J. Harter run)

Second quarter

KC -- Payton Cauthon 23 run (run failed)

CAV -- Tanner Urlaub 3 run (Andre Carrier pass from Colton Ratchenski)

CAV -- Ratchenski 1 run (Urlaub run)

KC -- J. Harter 3 run (J. Harter run)

Third quarter

CAV -- Brannin Cleem 12 pass from Ratchenski (Carrier pass from Ratchenski)

Fourth quarter

CAV -- Urlaub 59 pass from Ratchenski (Isiah LeTexier pass from Ratchenski)

KC -- Cauthon 73 pass from J. Harter (J. Harter run)

KC -- J. Harter 4 run (Hager pass from J. Harter)

KC -- Isaiah Harter 2 run (Hager pass from Harter)

Individual leaders

RUSHING -- KC: Isaiah Harter 17-101, Jonah Harter 14-64, Payton Cauthon 10-41, Parker Hager 6-36; Cav: Tanner Urlaub 16-93, Colton Ratchenski 12-10

PASSING -- KC: J. Harter 6-9-0, 168 yards; Hager 1-1-0, 30 yards; CAV: Ratchenski 16-27-2, 247 yards; Brodie Cluchie 1-1-0, (-2) yards; Urlaub 0-1-0, 0 yards

RECEIVING -- KC: Cauthon 3-117, Hager 3-81, I. Harter 1-0; CAV: Andre Carrier 5-98, Urlaub 4-91, Trevor Hinkle 3-32 Brannin Cleem 2-16, Brysen Cleem 1-6, Colby Thorlakson 1-4, Daniel Hinkle 1-(-2)

9-man senior athlete of the year -- Bo Belquist, New Rockford-Sheyenne

9-man coach of the year -- Jack Biesterfeld, Kidder County