Hibl leads Jays at Bismarck Invite


Coach Tracy Gustafson said the Blue Jays kept their composure Friday at Tom O'Leary Golf Course in Bismarck, but a few opportunities were missed en route to seventh-place 389 team score at the Bismarck High Invitational.

Lauryn Hibl broke into the 80s for a third time this season for JHS girls golf, carding a team-leading 88. The result was good enough to finish in a tie for 13th individually.

"The weather was gorgeous today, but unfortunately our mental toughness was tested," Gustafson said. "Lauryn was our leader with an 88 and she even stated that she left some shots out there. Our trouble areas seemed to be off the tee and chipping."

Bismarck Century (319) cruised to the team title behind eighth-grade twins Hannah Herbel and Leah Herbel. Hannah went low with 2-over-par 74, while Leah followed at 76.

Alyssa Zachrison finished seven shots back of teammate Hibl at 95. The Jays also received teams scores from Kyra Vogel (99) and Cora Wolsky (107).

"The girls are continuing to build stamina while playing different courses and learning to make appropriate club choices," Gustafson said. "We'll prep for our Tuesday tournament at Riverwood and seek to make some positive changes."

Tuesday's West Region competition is the Bismarck Legacy Invite at Riverwood Golf Course in Bismarck.

Bismarck Invite

Team results

1. Bismarck Century 319; 2. Mandan 337; 3. Minot 340; 4. (tie) Bismarck St. Mary's 361; Williston 361; 6. Bismarck 382; 7. Jamestown 389; 8. Turtle Mountain 419; 9. Bismarck Legacy 427.

Individual leaders

1. Hannah Herbel, BC, 74; 2. Leah Herbel, BC, 76; 3. (tie) Deona Roehrich, Mandan, 78; Gabby Easton, BSM, 78; 5. (tie) Becca Tschetter, Minot, 80; Joelle Fettig, Minot, 80; Kaleigh Carmichael, W, 80; 8. (tie) Birley Ball, BC, 82; Payton Roehrich, Mandan, 82; 10. Abby Schmidt, BSM, 85; 11. (tie) Madison Braun, BC, 87; McKayla Swallow, Mandan, 87; 13. (tie) Lauryn Hibl, J, 88; Sydney Berg, Minot, 88; 15. Renea Dokken, W, 89.

Blue Jays

(389): Alyssa Zachrison 95, Kyra Vogel 99, Lauryn Hibl 88, Cora Wolsky 107, Bria Nieswaag 116, Hanna Reuer 120.