Kupitz named to All-State soccer team

JHS Boys Soccer Goal Save.jpg
Jamestown's Jay Kupitz makes a diving save at the goal in front of Ethan Kessler of Shanley Friday at Rotary Field. John M. Steiner / The Sun

After four seasons with the Blue Jays boys soccer team, goalkeeper Jay Kupitz has been named to the Class A all-state second team by the state's coaches.

"Jay is a very solid and experienced goalkeeper," Jamestown High School boys soccer head coach Brandi Harty said. "He understands the game very well and he helped organize the defense every game."

Kupitz helped lead the Jays to a 6-10-0 overall record and 5-9-0 mark in West Region. The Blue Jays advanced to the region tournament for a second straight season, where Bismarck Legacy ended Jamestown's run 3-1 in a state-qualifying match.

Kupitz tied Lucas Weigel of Bismarck Legacy for the third-most saves in the WDA keeping 77 balls out of the net. Kupitz also posted a trio of shutouts, fifth-best in the conference.

Kupitz, as a junior, was one of only eight upperclassmen on the Jays' 20-man roster. Harty said Kupitz's experience, increased communication with the team and overall skill in the net made a difference on the defensive side of the ball.


"Anytime Jay is in the net, the team always feels comfortable and relaxed," Harty said. "He is a huge contributing factor to our defense. Jay’s desire to get better in the offseason will only add to his skill level as the Blue Jay goalkeeper."



Rodrigue Mugisha, Bismarck; Mason Weigel, Bismarck; Nikko Helderop, Century; Gabriel Saah, Legacy; TJ Seidel, Legacy; Yonas Adams, Fargo Davies; Taylor Lubungo, Fargo South; Colten Mitchell, Grand Forks Central; Gannon Brooks, Grand Forks Red River; Ezra Hagerott, Minot; Yuma Kabala, West Fargo; Seth Kotzbacher, West Fargo. Sheyenne.


Jay Kupitz, Jamestown; Owen Haase, Bismarck; Kenneth Brako, Century; Kaiden Campbell, Century; Lucas Weigel, Legacy; Drew Nelson, Fargo North; Jackson Macho, Grand Forks Central; Morgan Hoefs, Grand Forks Red River; Angel De La Cruz, Grand Forks Red River; Walter Markle, Minot; Mason Weinger, West Fargo; Kai Black, West Fargo Sheyenne.

NDHSCA POWERade Outstanding Senior Athlete - Yonas Adams, Fargo Davies.

NDHSCA SUBWAY Coach of the Year - James Moe, West Fargo.

Gerber is a sports writer for the Jamestown Sun.
What To Read Next
Get Local