Ken Cumber, of Jamestown, has been selected as the 2020 inductee into the North Dakota Fishing Hall of Fame. The announcement was made Tuesday by the hall’s board of directors.

Cumber, a long-serving supporter of sportfishing and preservation of the fishing resources in North Dakota, has been a member of Dakota Anglers for over 30 years and has served as its president for multiple terms as well as holding other executive offices. He has also been a dedicated member of the North Dakota Sportfishing Congress for over 30 years and served in various officer roles with the Congress.

Cumber has been involved in projects that established boat docks, improved the habitat and fishing resource, provided opportunities for youth fishing, and has conducted seminars to improve the fishing skills of youth and adults, and has volunteered countless hours to unselfishly provide and improve fishing opportunities for others.

Cumber has been an active volunteer and avid supporter of the North Dakota Game and Fish Department’s research and management concerning the fishing resources, demonstrating an ongoing passion for fishing and fisheries management, not just in the Jamestown area, but throughout North Dakota. Ken has also enjoyed a successful career as a tournament fisherman across the Midwest.

The North Dakota Fishing Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held in conjunction with the 2021 ceremony next year. The North Dakota Fishing Hall of Fame is located at North Country Marine & Motorsports in Garrison, North Dakota.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Nomination forms and additional information concerning the North Dakota Fishing Hall of Fame may be obtained online at or by calling the Garrison Convention and Visitor’s Bureau at 1-800-799-4242.

North Dakota Fishing Hall of Fame

Ole Breum, 1981

W.C. “Mac” Johnson, 1981

Mort Bank, 1981

Dale Henegar, 1981

Don & Hannah Saufferer, 1983

Russell Stuart, 1983

Don Steckel, 1988

Dr. John Owen, 1988

Jerry Rafferty, 1989

James Ragan, 1990

Tony Dean, 1990

Bill Mitzel, 1991

Marlin Hvinden, 1991

Tom Pruitt, 1992

David Jensen, 1992

Bob Frohlich, 2003

Fred Rykman, 2003

Emil Berard, 2004

Lee Klapprodt, 2004

Jim Fisher, 2005

Dennis Jeffrey, 2013

Louis Gaukler, 2013

Dean Hildebrand, 2014

Gene Van Eeckhout, 2014

Allen Freidig, 2015

Colleen “Tolly” Holtan, 2015

Robert “Bob” Haglund, 2015

FM Walleyes Unlimited, Inc., 2015

Terry Fleck, 2016

Jason Mitchell, 2016

Richard Fink, 2017

Clayton Folden, 2017

Paul Haug, 2017

Lake Region Anglers, 2017

Duaine Ash, 2018

Johnnie Candle, 2018

Dakota Anglers, 2018

Robert “Bob” Meter, 2019